Skip to content

Introducing Alex Smith – Part 2, an Interview

January 31, 2013

penny black alex smith biopicDidn’t you just love seeing Alex Smith’s images yesterday? Well, we’re thrilled today because Alex stopped by for an interview!

Where do you like to create? (studio, home, outside, indoors, etc?) 

“I mainly work in my studio which is just across the hall from my bedroom. I have a big(ish) window in front of my painting desk which I spend a good deal of time looking out of (I am a big fan of people watching!). My two dogs spend the day in the studio with me. They enjoy finding new ways to get into my waste paper basket without me noticing so they can steal bits of card to rip up (their favourite game), or else they just sleep by the radiator. Quite often, however, one or both of them find their way onto my lap which is not very helpful when you are trying to work! Luckily my dogs are very tiny so I can usually work around them. Otherwise, I always have a sketchbook on me, and a pencil, and I enjoy drawing everywhere and anywhere when I find I have a few moments to spare. Cafes are usually good places to work in my sketchbook, also, waiting rooms.

What advice do you have for individuals looking to grow and expand their creativity?

“I think the most important thing is to infuse your work with your personality. I think when you try to do something that isn’t very ‘you’, it really shows. There isn’t a truth to it. I also think that a lot of people think that to be a ‘real’ artist, you have to be influenced only by the area of art – fine artist, designers etc. I would say look for inspiration everywhere. Although I am an illustrator, other illustrators work actually comes fairly low down on the list of things that inspire me. I’m much more interested in cinema and animation, costume and set design, novels, comedy and children’s artwork, as well as silly things like the characters in saucy seaside postcards.”

What flavor of ice cream best describes your style and why?

“Wowzers! That IS a tricky question! Um… I’d say maybe something Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food – it’s quite familiar, but there are lots of things in it to surprise you! :-)”

Thanks Alex! We’re so glad to have you illustrating for Penny Black.  Our designers and contributors sure are having fun with your images.

Designer Elizabeth Allan pulled out all the stops and used Special Girl 40-223, Sweet & Cute 30-153 (sentiment), and Mix & Match Cardstock:  Summer Sun 17-002 to make this

specialgirl_elizabeth

Designer Jill Foster created this gorgeous card using 40-216 Granny’s Cake, 30-173 Charms, 30-101 Hedgie Friends:

granny'scake_jill

Designer Cathy Andronicou created this amazing paper-pieced confection using Melle Papillon 4300K, Venetian Summer 40-217 and Madison 80-001

mellepapillon_cathya

and she also made this totally phenomenal card using Lulu On the Moon, Storm 01-001

lulumoon_cathya

and finally, a card from designer Alexandra Siruge-Macleod using Melle Papillon

melle_alexandra

Don’t forget, Alex’s stamps are available in our online store today!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 2:23 am

    The range of styles amongst PB’s designers is extensive & these images somehow fit wherever. Some very helpful advice in this interview which really resonate with me – especially about being true to oneself in expression of artwork. Much food for thought. Love the scenario of little dogs playing with paper too.
    Paula (PEP)

  2. January 31, 2013 3:46 am

    fabulous cards and the images are so fun, love them
    Lindsay xx

  3. January 31, 2013 4:32 am

    Wonderful cards, love the colours!

  4. January 31, 2013 6:01 am

    wow these are all totally fabulous… So inspired..thanks for sharing..

  5. Lori K. permalink
    January 31, 2013 6:24 am

    I really like his style! Love the chihuahuas in the images!!!!! The cards are awesome 🙂

  6. Judy permalink
    January 31, 2013 6:32 am

    I love Alex’s whimsical style and all the fabulous cards made with these new images!

  7. January 31, 2013 6:45 am

    Such adorable images! LOVE each card!

  8. January 31, 2013 6:55 am

    Great images and wonderful work done by Design Team too. Love them all. 🙂

  9. January 31, 2013 7:11 am

    Love Alex’s fun style. Thanks for sharing his story.

  10. January 31, 2013 9:02 am

    Alex’s images are so unique & wonderful! Boy was the DT inspired–such creative, gorgeous cards today!

  11. January 31, 2013 5:14 pm

    Loving the interview!! So fun to get to hear and learn about the artist and their story!! So in love with the images and the DT’s Amazing Inspiration!! Thanks for sharing and have a fabulous week!! 🙂

  12. January 31, 2013 11:28 pm

    i adore Alex’s characters!! so cute! thanks for the wonderful interview, too!

Leave a comment