Skip to content

“Beat the Heat” Challenge

July 22, 2013

What better way to beat the heat than to settle in and stamp, stamp, stamp!  We love to see what you’ve been creating with your favorite Penny Black supplies so be sure to enter our new challenge…

banner

Share anything you’ve been working on this summer… any theme goes.  Do you put on the Christmas tunes and celebrate Christmas in July with a jump start on your Christmas cards?  Mixed media keeping you cool?  Tags, birthday cards, projects for friends, home decor, or travel scrapbooks quenching your thirst?

Who can play along? Anyone can submit their project!  We love to see what you create with Penny Black supplies.  All levels of stampers are welcome.

What should I create? Submit any type of project—card, tag, mixed media, altered art, scrapbook pages, home décor, etc.  Just be sure your submission has at least one Penny Black stamp, Creative Die, or sticker as the main focus.

How do I submit my project? There are several ways to submit your project.  Pick from any of these options (and you only need to pick one):
*Add it to the Penny Circle Flickr gallery with the tag “beat the heat.”
*Leave a comment on this post linking us to your blog entry or online gallery.
*Post your creation to our Facebook page.
When you post on your blog, don’t forget to grab our graphic above to include in your post along with a link back here. Simply right click and save the image.

When can I play along? This contest is open from July 22nd – August 5th at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time.  Feel free to submit more than one project!

Prizes? It wouldn’t be a challenge without prizes; right?  Three lucky winners will receive a prize package from Penny Black, each valued at $25. Winners will be announced on Saturday, August 17. And you never know, we just might feature YOUR entry here on the official Penny Black blog, Facebook or Twitter page!!

Join us the rest of the week while our designers share how they like to Beat the Heat!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 2:46 am

    can’t wait to get creating. I’ve got all my new PB stamps from my recent win… so this will get me motivated to ink them up.

  2. July 22, 2013 5:22 am

    What a fab challenge – I’m melting in this current heatwave in the UK but really need to be making Christmas cards as I have my first charity fundraiser of the year in September and last year I didn’t have enough Christmas cards for sale

  3. July 22, 2013 7:28 am

    Yippieeee!!!!! What a great way to start a week with this fab challenge, would love to play. 🙂

  4. July 22, 2013 5:01 pm

    Looks like lots of fun! Can we enter creations made prior to 22July?

    • July 22, 2013 5:26 pm

      Absolutely! As long as you’ve made them sometime this summer and they meet the other requirements. Can’t wait to see what you’ve created!

  5. July 24, 2013 10:51 am

    Thank you for a fun summer challenge! I think I’ve added my photo to the Flickr group, but if it didn’t load, my blog is “djkardkreations.com.” Darnell

  6. July 24, 2013 12:35 pm

    Here is my first card. Thank you so much. 🙂

    Have a Great Day!!

  7. July 24, 2013 1:00 pm

    Woohoo! I can enter at last! See what I do with water in the summer… http://pushingtherightbuttons.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/a-venetian-summer-dream.html

  8. July 24, 2013 2:58 pm

    I created my mix media card…Thanks for the fun challenge.
    http://hobbyandideas.blogspot.ch/2013/07/hello-gorgeous.html

  9. July 28, 2013 11:05 am

    Many feel that a complete ban on all marketing 2.
    0 to children. Make a commitment today to become a master marketer.
    They stood before the audience, looked people in the world,” The Tyranny of the Final Product. Use your email newsletter not only to itself but also to drive more potential renters your way is important.

  10. July 28, 2013 4:29 pm

    This was a good chance for me to use my prize that I won last month! Thank you again!

  11. July 29, 2013 10:25 am

    here is my Christmas tag http://paperpapier.blogspot.com/2013/07/christmas-tag.html

  12. July 29, 2013 12:02 pm

    Here is a card I made for the challenge – http://kkfantasticplace.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/party-bus.html

  13. July 29, 2013 1:37 pm

    Here’s a card I made yesterday using the PB Christmas background:

    One Layer Card No. 20: Merry Christmas

  14. July 30, 2013 12:54 am

    Hi; here’s one of my favourite summer stamp:
    http://leikkaan.blogspot.fi/2013/07/viljaa-ja-pioneja-14.html

  15. July 30, 2013 12:22 pm

    SO EXCITED!! I have been creating like CRAZY!! Anyway, here is my first card to share!! I used some of the New Dies and I am LOVING them!! Have a FABULOUS WEEK!! =)
    http://larissaheskettdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/07/happy-birthday-friend-with-penny-black.html

  16. July 31, 2013 2:14 am

    Hi! Christmas card with no-Christmas stamp here:
    http://leikkaan.blogspot.fi/2013/07/laulava-trio.html
    hope you like it;-))m

  17. July 31, 2013 4:07 am

    Hi! I really enjoy this challenge. Here is my card to this challenge. I love the Penny Black cat, its so smiley and glad! Picture is not so good, because my dauhgter has my better camera, but hope it still tells the story!
    http://merjahannele.blogspot.fi/2013/07/pulahdus-hellepaivan-pelastus-beat-heat.html

  18. July 31, 2013 12:21 pm

    I made a card for this challenge…

    Linda

  19. July 31, 2013 1:16 pm

    Here is one more card. Thank you so much. 🙂

    Make a Wish

  20. August 1, 2013 1:53 am

    Hi again, another ” field of poppies”- card !
    http://leikkaan.blogspot.fi/2013/08/viljaa-ja-pioneja-24.html

  21. August 1, 2013 8:49 am

    Love these ‘anything goes’ type of challenge – my blog post

  22. August 2, 2013 2:30 am

    And a Christmas card:
    http://leikkaan.blogspot.fi/2013/08/tonttuillaan.html

  23. August 3, 2013 8:38 am

    Here is one more card. Thank you so much. 🙂

    On Your Birthday

  24. August 3, 2013 8:32 pm

    I comment each time I especially enjoy a article on a website or if I
    have something to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it is a result of the sincerness communicated in the post I browsed.
    And on this post “Beat the Heat” Challenge | The Penny Black Blog.
    I was moved enough to drop a thought 🙂 I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.

    Is it just me or does it seem like a few of the
    remarks appear as if they are left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other places,
    I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you list every one of your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  25. August 5, 2013 7:07 pm

    Here is another Card I am sharing for the Challenge!! Having a BLAST!! THANKS for the FUN Challenge!! =) Have a FABULOUS WEEK!! =)
    http://larissaheskettdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/08/wow-thx-with-penny-black.html

  26. August 5, 2013 7:09 pm

    Here is another Card I am sharing for the Challenge!! Having a BLAST!! THANKS for the FUN Challenge!! =) Have a FABULOUS WEEK!! =)
    http://larissaheskettdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/08/congrats-with-penny-black.html

  27. August 5, 2013 7:21 pm

    Here is another Card I am sharing for the Challenge!! Having a BLAST!! THANKS for the FUN Challenge!! =) Have a FABULOUS WEEK!! =)
    http://larissaheskettdesigns.blogspot.com/2013/08/youre-simply-best-with-penny-black.html

  28. August 5, 2013 7:37 pm

    Here is my last card for this fab challenge. Thank you so much Penny Black. 🙂

    Have a great day!!

Leave a comment