Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

February 22, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello again, everyone!!  I am so happy to announce that I no longer have to be sneaky about showing up here on the Penny Black blog!  Your kind comments and enthusiasm for Runs with Scissors have resulted in my very own space here in the Penny Black workshop.  Nothing very large, but I usually find myself with a mere one foot square of clear stamping space on my desk anyway.  I just had to vacuum up the glitter and scrub the gesso splatter from the furniture.  Oh, and move Jill’s craft bag out of the way.  Wait, there’s nothing crafty in that bag…  it’s her gym bag!  Oh my!

I hope you were able to watch Vicky’s video tutorials here on the blog a couple of weeks ago.  I love and appreciate her sharing how she makes her lovely cards and her catchy theme music brightens my day.  I know that watching the step by step how-to methods of other artists helps me raise my uncomplicated style of card making to a higher level.  I hope you found something to try on your next project, too.

Did you know that Penny Black has its own YouTube channel?  Just a quick click for free help and inspiration!

Today, I’ve chosen to follow one of Jill Foster’s PB&J videos (No, they have nothing to do with sandwiches) to make a card using the Blissful background stamp and the Creative Die Wishes.

judy

You can find the video with Jill’s clear instructions HERE.

I made a few changes but really loved the technique Jill demonstrated, using gesso as a resist.  The gesso adds a texture beyond what embossing can do.

Are you like me and sometimes find yourself being more overwhelmed than inspired when you see some of the fabulous stamping art in blogland?  Do you ask yourself, “Why didn’t I think of that?”  Or, “Why can’t I do that?”   Just remember, like handwriting, everyone’s art work will reflect their own style, making it uniquely beautiful and personal.

Just for fun, I made a card using a few stamps from “Happy Everything.”

judy2

I first stamped the “Fronds” image on kraft paper using VersaMark ink and coloring it with chalks.  I sprayed that background with a fixative and then wrapped burlap ribbon around that base and stitched it all onto the note card.

I colored the gorgeous “Luminous” flower with Copics and fussy cut it.  The banner is cut from the “Triple Banner” Creative Die set and includes a sentiment from “Kind Words”.  I love this particular banner because it is unique and it holds a larger message.  I added a few black gems for that “touch of black”.

After I finished the card I showed it to my husband and before I could say a word he said, “Even though that has a flower, it is a great guy card.”  He is teachable!!

I thought it would be fun to use the same design, and the same stamps and die and make a feminine version of that card.

judy3

The Happy Everything release has so many beautiful floral images!  The Luminous image is a delight to color!

And to be sure you don’t miss anything here on the blog, be sure to sign up for the Penny Black club. You will be notified whenever something new comes up.   And don’t forget to share your Penny Black creations in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery.  Easy to do and you instantly become an inspiration to others.

Before I leave, Cooper has asked me to let you know that he felt badly about the photo last week of him hiding under the bed instead of being supportive of my work in the craft room.  As proof of his new attitude, here’s a photo of Cooper taking over stitching duties:

dog

So far he’s mastered only the zig zag stitch; the dials on the machine seem to confuse him.

Oops, here comes the cleaning crew:  I hope they can do something with this gym bag!  Guess it’s time for me to pack up my crafty stuff and head home. And from me to you “Happy Everything!”

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    February 22, 2014 5:14 am

    Mom, how awesome are you? Love the cards! I am so proud of you.

    • donna mikasa permalink
      February 22, 2014 2:27 pm

      Yes, your Mama is quite awesome, Scott! She’s a superstar! 🙂

  2. Linda baker permalink
    February 22, 2014 6:15 am

    Your coloring is beautiful!

  3. February 22, 2014 6:28 am

    Fabulous cards – both versions are just perfect! And, your humor is always spot on, Judy! You make me smile every time.

  4. bdengler4 permalink
    February 22, 2014 6:55 am

    Oh, my! I ADORE Judy’s posts! This one is not only filled with beautiful creativity, but I found myself smiling through the whole thing! I LOVE seeing Cooper – he’s adorable! And Judy, your cards are amazing! Must try that Gesso technique!

    One more thing – I want to thank you for reminding us that even if we CASE another crafter’s work, it still reflects our own talent and style!

    P.S. did ya cry a little after reading Scott’s comment?

    • February 22, 2014 7:35 am

      Barb, you have to know Scott .. he was probably chuckling as he wrote it!! Gotta love him!!

      • Scott schmidlkofer permalink
        February 22, 2014 12:40 pm

        Mother I find your work amazing, I may have been sleep deprived when I wrote it but nonetheless amazed. You are my hero!

  5. Penny Nichols permalink
    February 22, 2014 7:02 am

    These cards are beautiful Judy! Also, your posts are such a delight to read. Love them.

  6. February 22, 2014 7:14 am

    What a treat this new column of Judy’s is!!!! Pretty cards, witty writing, and a cute dog to boot. How I missed the gesso video, I have no idea…but I just don’t see how there could be a more gorgeous card than the “Thinking of You” in this post. Absolutely breath taking!!! Must say, I am a tad jealous…my sons never comment on my cards…you are blessed!

  7. Martha permalink
    February 22, 2014 7:21 am

    Judy…I love your sense-of-humor! You crack me up, every time!
    What a fabulous writer, entertainer…AND, artist you are.

    OH, yes,…it’s really about the cards. Right?
    Gesso on cards…I always love it! You’ve used Jill’s inspiration SO beautifully! (Thanks for the link to that tutorial.) Love how you’ve used the burlap & vellum. AND, your stitching on cards always gets my attention. Beautiful cards, & fabulous inspiration! Thanks!

    Lastly, what a DARLING photo of Cooper at your sewing machine. It makes me smile!

  8. February 22, 2014 8:13 am

    Thank you for sharing your gorgeous creations, they are simply stunning. And huge thanks for putting a smile on my face with that most adorable photo of your puppy.

  9. February 22, 2014 9:09 am

    I think they better give you more space, Judy–absolutely terrific addition to the PB family! LOVE your cards, as always! Yes, I have again been feeling overwhelmed with all the incredible work I see. Thanks for the reminder that it’s OK we’re not all the same. I do need to review that video & make more use of my gesso, so thanks for that reminder, too.

  10. February 22, 2014 9:11 am

    Great fun to see your’e going to be a regular feature & thanks for all the links. Your interpretation of Jill’s card is delightful & I like the way you’ve echoed the white of the gesso with your die-cut across the vellum. Thank you too for the remark about CASing something – I’m often afraid of CASing something in case I’m accused of copying. So that’s a little encouragement for me to try.
    I love both of your Luminous cards but that burlap one just has the slight edge for me as I love oranges & greens. I particularly like the way your butterfly & the banner are clearly white drawing attention to them. In the second card the look is totally different – amazing what the different colourway does with the design.
    Cooper obviously doesn’t like to be caught napping after last week!
    Paula (PEP)

    • February 22, 2014 9:26 am

      Paula, I always enjoy seeing your very thoughtful comments on the Penny Black blog. Thank you for the encouragement and kind words. I know everyone loves comments!

  11. quilterlin permalink
    February 22, 2014 10:06 am

    Just loved today’s instalment, Judy! That first card with the gesso stamping is my favorite today – will have to give this a try! And your pink and grey card is just beautiful. Such fun to see your little helper today!

  12. February 22, 2014 10:15 am

    Fabulous cards Judy. The lily is just beautiful, and your coloring of it stunning. I too smiled as I read through your column. I’ll be back !

  13. donna mikasa permalink
    February 22, 2014 2:29 pm

    Judy, your cards are just delicious! I’m in love with the first card, especially! The colors, the texture. So happy to see you here–and Cooper, too! You just made Saturdays a whole lot brighter!

  14. February 22, 2014 2:53 pm

    You are a HOOT Judy!
    Cooper…the machine Befuddles me too!

  15. Dianne Crowe permalink
    February 22, 2014 3:47 pm

    What beautiful cards today Judy. You always have such lovely work.

  16. February 22, 2014 7:23 pm

    this was just the best post to read. You are very clever with your words as you are with your cards Judy. And just love Cooper helping out. Had to tell my hubby about it and even he had a grin on his face! And your son is just the best

  17. karenladd permalink
    February 22, 2014 10:59 pm

    Wow, your beautiful cards are so inspiring…I had to pin them! And oh my goodness, I was cracking up at your hilarious post…especially when it came to Cooper learning the zig zag stitch. Love mixing laughter with crafting!

  18. February 22, 2014 11:16 pm

    wow! these are gorgeous, Judy!! amazing work as always!

  19. February 23, 2014 6:51 pm

    So glad you have your own space on the PB blog, Judy – I look forward to your columns, filled with techniques and a delightful read as well. Love all three of your cards; that pink lily really does look “luminous!” So happy to see Cooper helping this week; hope he keeps it up and will be joining you often. No scissors for him, though! Hugs and furry pats…

  20. Katie B. permalink
    February 24, 2014 12:01 am

    Beautiful cards! I love the last card, just wonderful ideas! I love that you are including photos of your dog too. He made me smile in your last post too. And your writing makes me smile too. Thanks for sharing.

    Katie B.

  21. February 24, 2014 2:59 pm

    So excited to know that you now have a permanent place of your own here! I also wanted to tell you how Much I love these cards and how fun it was to see Cooper sitting at your sewing machine!! 🙂

    Congrats…!!

  22. February 25, 2014 7:37 am

    So lovely to find you here Judy – wow, what a great column. Love your wit and your beautiful cards!

  23. Anne Marie Sweeney permalink
    February 27, 2014 11:18 pm

    Dang Jill , that is very very cool … Stamping with gesso .. Who knew .. Not me .. And those stamps sets ..omg those backgrounds are the best looking ..wow so very cool.. You never cease to amaze me …I love it..tfs Yours in Ink Anne

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  24. Darlyne W permalink
    February 28, 2014 1:16 am

    what utterly jaw-droppingly pretty cards, Judy. I wish you’d do some videos so we could see it happen while you create. I can’t see techniques too many times to suit me!

  25. February 28, 2014 7:57 pm

    Love your cards Judy! And I kept smiling all along this post, your artistic style is as awesome as your writing! Yay, so happy you have your permanent column here! Way to go!

  26. June 13, 2014 6:28 am

    This basically suggests that you will be able to eat anything that you want without the worry of gaining weight.
    Adiphene is produced in an FDA accredited lab and are
    convinced by a extra pharmaceutical approach.
    The thermogenic and stimulants from Adiphene will help your
    body to burn the energy which are consumed throughout meals.

  27. June 17, 2014 11:28 am

    In order to promote the website, the web master must always
    adhere to the general rules in search engine optimization. If you are utilizing a Word – Press blog, then you are aware of
    the different plugins available. Once your site has been verified Google will
    regularly check if the verification is still valid.

Leave a comment