Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

March 1, 2014

She’s perfected pajama stamping AND she runs with scissors.  Welcome back, Judy!

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Well, here I am again at my space on the Penny Black blog.   I’ve been here since really early this morning (I’m still in my pajamas), and I am so glad I got here when I did!   Someone left the big box sitting out with the “Happy Everything” release in it and I couldn’t resist.  I put my hand in and pulled out one of the stamps … and it was the cling stamp “Magical Day.” I love Mo Manning’s images of little children and seniors.  This was a joy to play with.

judy1

The challenge for me was to make the wings sparkly enough:  the Wink of Stella pen on vellum did the trick.  I’ve placed the image inside the card and then cut a circle from the front and covered the opening with plastic. The banner is from Penny Black’s creative die set “Triple Banner,” stamped with the sentiment included with the stamp.

Because of all the purple, my finished card reminds me of the poem by Jenny Joseph called “Warning” which begins with the line “When I am an old woman” and goes on to list all the things she will do when she can stop being a responsible and serious adult.  One of her plans is to wear purple.  You can read the poem HERE, and perhaps think of a few ideas of your own.

I’m sure if she had thought of it she would have mentioned a magic wand.  Were I to write the same kind of poem, I would include running with scissors!

Things were going so well I decided to dip into that box again and came up with the woodblock stamp “Noble.” I have to admit to being tempted to put it back, as I wasn’t so sure how to use a brush stroke stamp.

I tried stamping it in light colored ink and coloring with Copics.  I tried stamping in black ink and watercoloring it.  Neither of these techniques allowed the beauty of the floral image to show through.  Then finally I reached for a piece of watercolor paper left from previous attempts, pulled out a few Distress Inks and in the last throes of defeat, just inked up the stamp with Wild Honey, Festive Berries and Crushed Olive and stamped onto the watercolor paper.  Who doesn’t love a happy accident?

judy2

I cut the image with a circle die (another circle?), stitched it onto a card base and added die cuts from the Creative Die sets “Flutters” and “Love and Joy.”

When I am in my craft space at home and look at the aftermath of my stamping sessions, I am astounded at the messes I make!  It seems the more creative I became, the more I just push things around, pile things up, and create chaos!  Can you believe that this …

neat

Becomes this …..

messy

How does this happen? I don’t do this in my kitchen.   When I cook a meal, I am very fussy about keeping ahead of the dirty dishes and clean up and put away as I go.   Why, then, do I turn into this alien creature, pushing things aside as I go instead of putting them away?  It’s as if I put on my purple dress and become totally irresponsible.  Are you a neat and tidy stamper or does your desk look like mine when you are done?

After all the stress with the brush stroke image, I felt a need to do something fun.  This time I boldly looked when I put my hand into the box and searched until I found the ingredients to make a card that makes my heart smile … cute!

judy3

I love how the blackboard sentiment goes so well with Ms. Ladybug.  The pennants added the right balance to the color scheme and are made with the Creative Die “Pennant.” 

Do you remember the Valentine I made for my granddaughter Evie?   You can find it HERE.

Well, I am told by her parents that she really loved it!

evie

I guess it was hers to enjoy the way she enjoys things best right now!  (Actually, Mom and Dad saved it from becoming a meal and put it safely in her baby book.)

Oh, my… the morning is almost gone!  So glad you stopped by.  It’s time to put the stamps back where they belong, get the little scraps of paper corralled and tuck the scissors safely back into the drawer.  And time to get out of my pajamas!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2014 1:39 am

    Can you borrow a little that big box with ”happiness” ? 😀 I would love to be so creative in pajamas , just like you ;).
    By the way, my little desk look worst then yours when I’m ”in the flow”, but I love it oh! so much then … clean and neat , the desk isn’t appealing at all 😉
    Wish you a wonderful spring !

  2. March 1, 2014 2:24 am

    Not only does my stamping “tower” look like yours ( before and after) but I even have the same lamp. Sometimes my work space narrows down to the size of a card, but I do clean up again once I’m done so I don’t come back to a mess next time.

  3. Barb Housner permalink
    March 1, 2014 4:19 am

    Judy I so love your posts – they are so entertaining and the cards are always beautiful thanks for sharing

  4. Gabriella B permalink
    March 1, 2014 4:50 am

    I love the love card…..but a cute baby in a greenbay onsie is cuter!

  5. March 1, 2014 4:55 am

    What a treat to see your post early this morning, Judy! Puts a smile on my face every time. I love your cards. Your workspace looks great all neat and tidy; but I am the same as you – as long as there is a 6 inch square of space left, I’m good to go!

    Evie has very good taste! 🙂

  6. March 1, 2014 5:50 am

    Another Saturday, another enjoyable and humorous post from the lady in her jammies. Your cards are lovely…especially the happy accident card!!! I about fainted when I saw Evie eating her Valentines card. Hopefully it was saved before she left too much DNA on the corner of your beautiful creation. 🙂

  7. March 1, 2014 6:57 am

    Oh, it’s so fun to find you here on a Saturday morning! As always, your post made me smile – what a great start to my day, Judy, thank you!

  8. March 1, 2014 7:00 am

    Thanks for the poem…it was full of smiles for me.
    I DO love your happy NOBLE accident….so glad you kept working with it!

  9. bdengler4 permalink
    March 1, 2014 7:08 am

    Judy, I cannot tell you how much I enjoy your Running With Scissors posts! I love all three cards! You used the different PB stamps so beautifully! And how fun to see your craft space! I’m glad I’m not alone – mine looks exactly the same after a creative session – so messy! Loved seeing Evie enjoying her card too – such a sweet pic! ♥

  10. March 1, 2014 8:39 am

    Just love starting my Saturdays with Judy! Today’s “Runs With Scissors” was especially meaningful, and I will happily go ahead with my own project…Thanks, Judy, for reminding me of “When I’m An Old Woman…” Love your cards, love seeing the beautiful Evie.

  11. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    March 1, 2014 8:50 am

    Mother,

    Your cards are once again beautiful. However, putting the most adorable picture of Evelyn in Packer pajamas kind of over shadowed them. Perhaps next time leave any Packer things off the post so people can focus on your work and not the greatest football team on earth. Evelyn loves to eat things but the card was saved. Love you.

    Your favorite child,

    Scott

    P.s. Please note that I am the first child to post every time you post. Kathy may call more but I obviously care more.

  12. March 1, 2014 9:00 am

    I had to chuckle over your trouble with the brushstrokes stamp – it worked out beautifully though with the way the butterfly & die-cut sentiment overlap the circle, what’s wrong with a circle anyhow? Cooper seems to really have got the hang of that zigzag stitch.
    Delightful wand the old elf is wielding & her wings haven’t run out of sparkle yet.
    Love the way the black of chalkboard accents the ladybugs spots & your black elements on that pennant add another lovely echo to ladybugs spots.
    Yes I do get messy when I create – however there is an order about it. All the things I’ve used go onto a tray so that I can list them in my blog post – once that is done everything goes back to its rightful place & any offcuts or scraps are put into the scraps box.
    Great fun seeing you here on Saturdays.
    Paula (PEP)

  13. March 1, 2014 9:30 am

    Another delightful post dear Judy! Thank You!
    You have covered all bases for sure.
    Your cards are amazing and I love the fact that you have included the poem (new to me) and the fun pictures! It’s a real treat for us all!!

  14. ThePurplePlace permalink
    March 1, 2014 10:22 am

    Loving your latest cards, especially the wonderful Magical “Purplicious” one, of course!! I also love seeing that little Evie, was very pleased with her Valentine and giving it little kisses!! Ahhh the joys of being a Grammy….I can hardly wait!!

    Thanks for another wonderful posts…lots of great tidbits and cute ideas!! Love your craft room pics too!!

  15. March 1, 2014 10:31 am

    Great cards and narrative – makes me smile! When my husband asks what am I going to do today I say ‘finish up a few projects and clean up my studio (actually the laundry room…but a really nice one). Later When he looks in, he does not see the change…funny how that works – I’m into several different projects by then….guess he does not understand the meaning of my purple PJ’s! Sigh.
    TFS Judy,
    Jan Castle in Salem, OR

  16. Donna Whitten permalink
    March 1, 2014 10:50 am

    Giggle! What fun I’ve had with you! I love the pretty and cute cards you made. Sorry about the mess, but it happens! Thanks for sharing.

  17. donna mikasa permalink
    March 1, 2014 11:30 am

    Another fun post, Judy! I love the gossamer wings on the purple fairy and your happy accident looks quite effortless! And you do cute like no one else–I think having an adorable granddaughter helps a lot!

  18. Kathy Schmidlkofer permalink
    March 1, 2014 12:00 pm

    Mom –
    I know you don’t play favorites with your children and that you love us all equally!

    I love all of your cards today, but the “Have a Magical Day” card is superb and is truly magical! I love the purple, mainly because I know how you love that poem.

    Love your blog and glad that you treated yourself to a morning in your pj’s! A must do every once in awhile.

    Love Evie in her Greenbay Onsie and I agree with Scott that the Packers are the best ever pro football team. But as you know I have to jump in with the comment that the University of Minnesota’s Golden Gopher’s are the world’s best! Go Gophers!

    Love you, love the family.

    Kathy

    • Scott schmidlkofer permalink
      March 1, 2014 5:20 pm

      Nice try sister but a little late.

  19. March 1, 2014 12:13 pm

    Just love you old lady in purple — as I am at that stage where I enjoy the purple aspect of doing whatever ,whenever the mood hits as there are so many crafts and projects that i want to accomplish . Love spending time making things with my grandkids instead of just cooking and cleaning. Been there, done it –now is the time to enjoy the fun thingsin life.

  20. Linda baker permalink
    March 1, 2014 1:50 pm

    These cards are all breathtaking! Look forward to your posts. Love your craft space too.

  21. barbara lassiter permalink
    March 1, 2014 5:30 pm

    Enjoyed your post and my work space looks like yours. I seem to create better when It’s really messy! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your lovely cards.

  22. Dawn Turley permalink
    March 1, 2014 6:39 pm

    You make my day reading your posts Judy I love all your different cards here. My space looks just like yours after a session of card making. Can’t wait to read your next post.

  23. March 2, 2014 8:39 am

    I make messes everywhere, workshop, kitchen, desk. It means you are focused.

  24. March 2, 2014 9:41 pm

    You really had fun, Judy–love the cards! Neat & organized craft space?!–not in my world–LOL! That Evie is just the cutest! Love her Packers PJs!

  25. Vicky S. permalink
    March 5, 2014 6:28 am

    I just had to laugh at the nice room turn into a mess. It looks like my room when I am done. I had to call my husband to look at this so he knows that I am not the only one that is messy in my stamp room. But I do try to keep my kitchen clean.

  26. March 8, 2014 7:00 am

    Judy, you’re a riot 🙂 I love your cards and just love the “bum” commercial. The guy who comes out of the bathroom and say “I feel clean & fresh” made me laugh so hard. Thanks for a “big” smile this morning 🙂

Leave a comment