Skip to content

Blooming with Inspiration by Jill

April 7, 2014

Spring has sprung on the Penny Black blog! Join us over the next two weeks as our designers share creations sure to get your creativity BLOOMING. And if you haven’t checked out our newest release, Bloom, you can view the complete catalog HERE and shop HERE.

blooming-with-inspiration

Perhaps April watercolor showers bring May flowers?

jill

jill2

You can create this watercolor effect, too! Join Jill as she shows you how using our Slapstick/Cling stamp, 40-311 Poppy Trio.

Watch in HD directly on YouTube HERE.

SHOP:

37 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2014 12:54 am

    gorgeous. i so love jill’s videos

  2. April 7, 2014 2:01 am

    Beautiful coloring n colors…loved the video. thanks for sharing !

  3. Darlyne W permalink
    April 7, 2014 2:43 am

    I have never seen watercoloring done like this; so inspiring! Jill is so talented, I follow all her videos. Stupendous card, Jill.

  4. April 7, 2014 2:59 am

    Amazing Jill!

  5. April 7, 2014 3:28 am

    Absolutely wonderful! xx

  6. April 7, 2014 3:49 am

    I love using techniques like this so thank you, you really gave me a smile this morning. For some reason I’d not thought of using my Tombows in this manner!!! The effect is absolutely delightful with the depth in those petals behind others & thank you too for showing the pink smudgy bits & how you resolved that with your final design.
    Paula (PEP)

  7. Barb Plummer permalink
    April 7, 2014 4:44 am

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to try this. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Barb P.

  8. April 7, 2014 5:01 am

    this is just SO gorgeous Jill!

  9. Dianne Crowe permalink
    April 7, 2014 5:14 am

    Yikes, so beautiful. Going to try this one, hope it turns out half as good as yours Jill.
    Thanks for the video.

  10. April 7, 2014 6:54 am

    OMG OMG OMG!! JILL this is BEAUTIFUL!! I LOVE your Card and the AMAZING water Color look you created!! Simple Stunning as usual!! =) THANKS for sharing and have a FABULOUS WEEK!! =)

  11. April 7, 2014 7:08 am

    Great video, very informative. I really need to use my wc paper. I tend to shy away from it.

  12. Miriam Prantner permalink
    April 7, 2014 7:13 am

    Stunning! And wonderful video!

  13. knurse22 permalink
    April 7, 2014 7:36 am

    Awesome technique, love watching you create! It really helps me to “get’ the technique that way! Beautiful watercolor and card…..I think I can try this now myself! Thank you, Jill!

  14. sschmitz1618 permalink
    April 7, 2014 8:03 am

    You make it look so easy. Gorgeous card

  15. April 7, 2014 10:36 am

    Very pretty! Just love it, and you make it look so effortless!

  16. Daria permalink
    April 7, 2014 10:57 am

    Thank you for demonstrating this technique. Your flowers are gorgeous!

  17. April 7, 2014 11:26 am

    Breathtaking!! Can you share the colors of the Tombow markers that you used, please?

  18. Gabby permalink
    April 7, 2014 11:26 am

    Beautiful card, Jill! Gorgeous flowers. Thanks for sharing your technique in the video. Your time and shared talent is appreciated! Gabby 🙂

  19. Gabriella B permalink
    April 7, 2014 11:28 am

    Wow, these are the most beautifulpoppies I have ever seen

  20. barbara lassiter permalink
    April 7, 2014 12:25 pm

    This is awesome. Thanks for a great video with loads of information. I truly love the look of water color and this couldn’t be any better.

  21. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    April 7, 2014 1:12 pm

    Stunningly beautifully!

  22. April 7, 2014 3:32 pm

    I am so in love with this card!!! The BEST EVER! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

  23. Maye M.L. permalink
    April 7, 2014 3:49 pm

    Fabulous instructional video. Thanks, cheers!

  24. lolyborda43 permalink
    April 7, 2014 5:17 pm

    Wow! Jill, this card is gorgeous, love your watercoloring.TFS

  25. April 7, 2014 5:55 pm

    Wow – GORGEOUS! So refreshing to have a tutorial with Tombow pens as I have Tombow pens and not copics. Thank you so much for sharing your talent with us.

    Jocelyn x

  26. April 7, 2014 7:24 pm

    Just gorgeous, Jill. Wonderful tutorial. I have always loved watercolor and I think no-line stamping/coloring is a nice way to introduce this medium to those who have never done it.

  27. April 7, 2014 7:33 pm

    These are beautiful! Love the techniques used.

  28. Smokie permalink
    April 7, 2014 9:50 pm

    Those are very, very, pretty. The black and white details adds so much depth.

  29. April 7, 2014 10:17 pm

    What wonderful technique. I’ve never seen it done like this where you put the water down and then the color on top. Works beautifully. I’ll have to give that a try. Thanks!

  30. Janet permalink
    April 8, 2014 6:00 am

    This is gorgeous! Thanks for the informative video.

  31. Kelly F. permalink
    April 9, 2014 8:29 am

    Your video is so helpful. You have an amazing talent and I am so glad you are sharing it with us. I should be able to follow along (once I receive my stamp) and create a poppy almost as beautiful. Thank you, thank you!!!

  32. April 9, 2014 1:22 pm

    Absolutely amazing and such a gorgeous card! I am so in LOVE with this release and have made at least one new card using a PB stamp for the last few weeks. Once I was introduced to this line, I fell in love and just can’t get enough of these wonderful new stamps! Love Love Love and can’t wait to play some more today!

    Thanks for the fabulous inspiration and the awesome video! I’m have a blast and have been so inspired by these new products!!

  33. April 10, 2014 10:17 am

    Incredibly beautiful !! Than you for the great lesson. 🙂

  34. April 15, 2014 9:06 pm

    Penny Black is my all time favorite stamp designer! I’m just discovering your blog, you tube channel and design team! I’m particularly interested in learning what Tombow markers you used to color the Poppy Trio Stamp!!! Can you at least tell me if the colors are available in the set you showed a photo of from Tombo? Also, I wonder why Penny isn’t using photopolymer for her clear stamps? I have a hard time getting a full impression using Versamark ink. Is there another ink I should use with her clear stamps? Thanks so much in advance for your reply! I used to think Tombow markers were too bright but I love the fact that the total set comes with 4-5 shades of each color, that is so awesome. Oh, and also, thank you for saying what kind of water color paper your used, that was really helpful!

    • April 16, 2014 4:56 pm

      Hi Kathy! So glad you you stopped by. I used Tombow marker colors 856, 098, and N15 on this card. I have great success in using VersaFine Onyx Black Ink and then embossing in clear with T for Transparent stamps. Hugs and Happy Stamping!

  35. December 24, 2014 10:02 am

    This is absolutely stunning, Jill!

Leave a comment