Skip to content

Runs with Springtime Scissors

April 12, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

 

Hello, everyone!  Glad to be running with scissors on the Penny Black blog today.  And it’s a very good thing I didn’t stay away any longer.  After weeks that included “How-To’s” and a video blog hop and “Hip and Modern” this blog was in a bit of disarray.  There was acrylic paint, gesso, and torn paper bits all over the place.  Creativity does exact its toll!  It’s all neat and tidy again, though, with room to play.

In all seriousness, I believe the video blog hop was the best hop I’ve ever hopped!  There were so many great ideas and techniques and the most talented group of artists anywhere.  If you missed it, here’s a link.

This past week has been a week of Spring beauty here at the Penny Black blog, with one lovely bloom after another. It all makes me want to use exclamation marks at the end of my sentences instead of periods.  I think I need to get that out of my system!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I read on one blog that the blogger allows herself to over-use exclamation marks every Friday.  I like that idea.

Speaking of too much of a good thing, take a look at this:

judy

 

There is a story here.  Sequins are popular right now and in my determination to become more “hip and modern” I realized that my tiny supply of about 25 sequins was not adequate.  On my recent trip to the big box craft store I browsed the amazing display of packaged sequins.  There were packages of individual colors, each costing about $3.00 per little package.  I was calculating the cost of purchasing enough colors to ensure I would have what I needed when I needed it, when I spied a LARGE plastic container filled to the brim with sequins of every color I had seen on the display.  It was the one and only container of such size and I felt myself extremely lucky to have spotted it.  The coupon in my purse would reduce the cost to a mere $6.00!  I quickly went to the check out to secure my purchase.  I was a happy stamper.

Fast forward to the mail delivery that afternoon.  A package arrived with an online purchase of paper and embossing powder  .. and you guessed it; a large package of assorted sequins.  The joy of being my age … the packages that arrive are a surprise, even though I placed the order!  So I combined the two packages and this is what happened.  The good news: the second package contained white sequins which the first package didn’t include.  I think I am prepared for any sequin event!!

I’ve been working on “hip and modern” and hoping to be able to share a little “how to” also while playing with the beautiful Penny Black florals in the “Happy Everything” release.  This is what happened first:

judy2

 

The background was created by using gesso instead of ink for stamping the palm frond background stamp.  This is the “third generation” of stamping, as I was a bit too generous with the gesso.  I colored the flower with Copics and added the enamel dots, another trendy item.  I’m thinking this may qualify as “hip and modern”.

The black cardstock was still on my desk when the idea was born for this card.

judy3

 

I lightly “inked” the woodblock stamp with gesso and stamped it twice, a bit off the second time.  I really liked the look and finished the card, cutting the circles and adding some of my new ribbon.  When I returned to review my work several hours later I realized it was pretty boring and not very “hip”.  I got out my chalks (remember those?) and added color to the flowers and leaves and liked the result.  And then … l spotted the sequins.  I was happy to use up six of the silver ones.

This next card was an experience very much like working with mixed media, only with different ingredients.

judy4

 

The chalks and black cardstock hadn’t yet been put away and I began playing, which is the experience of working with mixed media.  I had no idea where I was going with this, but just let it happen.

I first dusted the cardstock with chalks in colors I would like to show up on the tags.  I then stamped the tag image on top of the chalks using VersaMark ink and then I embossed with clear embossing powder.  The colors weren’t obvious enough for me, so I added more chalk.  I thought I had ruined everything as the chalk obliterated the shiny embossed lines of the image.  Not knowing what else to do, I grabbed the heat gun and reheated the image.  Presto!!  Shiny lines and more color.  I did this several times, adding more chalk each time and reheating.  The end result was a bit dark, so I added the diecut dragonflies and sentiment in bright white for accent.  Don’t know if it’s hip and modern, but it was a how to and fun to play with.  I did try splattering gesso and discovered the splatters don’t always go where you want them to, so there are very few on this card and more than a few on my craft mat.

While we have been waiting for spring to arrive, my youngest granddaughter Evelyn Rose has been growing.  Here she is sporting a new hairdo (now that she has hair) and a lovely spring outfit.

judy5

 

Mr. Runs with Scissors recently returned from a ten day trip to visit his brother in Arizona.  I could post ten of these photos of Cooper waiting and watching by the front door for his buddy to return, one for each day.

judy6

 

Finally, here is Cooper seconds after he charged through the door after having spotted Mr. RWS coming up the walk.

judy7

 

I wish I had captured the reunion on video.  I had received a phone call from the airport saying he was on his way, so I could calculate the time of arrival.  I sat with Cooper for the last five minutes to let him know that FINALLY his vigil would be rewarded.  When Cooper saw his hero, he tried desperately to leap through the door.  I opened it and out he shot, almost knocking husband to the ground!  (Note the fate of the backpack).  He’s little, but mighty!  (Cooper,not husband).  There was tail wagging, face kissing and leaping and jumping.   It was a wonderful ending to a long, lonely and quiet ten days for Cooper.

All in all, it’s been good to have my Penny Black floral images to play with while waiting for spring.  I have taken a few steps toward hip and modern and learned a few new techniques.  I also used up six sequins.  What could be better?

It is time now to put away the scissors, vacuum up the bits of paper and the errant sequin or two that escaped from the box.  Thanks for sharing your Saturday with me.  I love hanging out on the Penny Black blog and your comments make my heart smile.

 

SHOP:

38 Comments leave one →
  1. val jones permalink
    April 12, 2014 12:10 am

    Hi, What a lovely read today. Beautiful baby, stunning cards and one very happy dog. Makes me feel good inside.
    Thank you.
    Val in Spain x

  2. April 12, 2014 12:14 am

    Loving the cards and you have reminded me I have some sequins lying around, I will get them onto some cards x

  3. Darlyne W permalink
    April 12, 2014 2:39 am

    That first card is a real grabber, so gorgeous how you colored it. Love the photos of Evelyn Rose (the apple of grandma’s eye?) and anxious Cooper. Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. April 12, 2014 4:58 am

    I rarely read blog posts (I just look at the cards) but something nudged me to read yours, and I’m so glad I did! Sounds like we’re in the same age bracket, especially when you said it’s fun to get surprise packages we actually ordered! I also have a sequin problem–too many of the wrong colors, although I plan to remedy that today when I go to AC Moore for a colored pencil class I signed up for, unless I forget. As for your dog why is it that we feed them, take them to the vet, etc. and our husbands get their attention??? BTW, your cards are beautiful, and I love the way you experimented! (and yes, I too am addicted to punctuation marks…)

  5. April 12, 2014 6:18 am

    Good morning, my hip and modern friend! Love your cards today, especially the first! Evie is even more adorable than last time we saw here, and Cooper’s reunion with Mr. RWS was a fine ending for your post today! Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. April 12, 2014 6:20 am

    Love your cards today, Judy. Your box of sequins looks something like mine; I found a large multi pack at Michael’s and then ran across two or three packs that I had in a sewing box and don’t even know how or why they got there. When they are all living in the same container, there must be some hanky-panky goin’ on; because it always seems like there are more each time I open it!!

    Evie is SO beautiful – love here new outfit!

  7. April 12, 2014 6:49 am

    Judy, I too have started using sequins, etc. to be more “modern”. So I had to laugh when you said that. AND I totally understand about the age thing. I have ordered two of several things because I forgot I have them!! LOVE your cards!! I never thought of stamping with gesso. Now I have to find my gesso – Or JUST GO GET ANOTHER BOTTLE. That is the other fun thing about age – I cant seem to find anything!! Thanks for sharing your beautiful cards,

  8. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    April 12, 2014 6:57 am

    Mother, I am quite confident that I ordered that package for you. Happy Mothers Day! Now that I have your gift out of the way, we can now plan Evelyn’s first birthday that is approaching. I loved the cards! Your son and favorite child, Scott.

  9. April 12, 2014 7:23 am

    She’s gone retro!!! So love the black and orange HB card!!! Very trendy looking!!! I can’t believe that Evie is going to be a year old…time flies!!! So glad Cooper had a happy reunion with Mr. RWS…priceless!! I so enjoyed your “column” today. Laughing about the sequins…hurry, go, scoot…use them up before the next “big” thing comes out. And lastly…about your son Scott…favorite child indeed…please give me the emails of your other children so they will make him pay for that comment. 🙂

    • judka permalink
      April 12, 2014 7:54 am

      Penny, the other kids will take excellent care of Scott!!

  10. Susan Roberts permalink
    April 12, 2014 7:35 am

    The third card is FANTASTIC! I now know what I can do with the chalks I purchased several years ago. Thank you so much for sharing your mixed media how to. You are so talented.

  11. April 12, 2014 7:44 am

    Nothing is better than coming on to an enthusiastic greeting – even if you’ve only been gone a half hour. Ten days is hard on the greeter and greetee (if that a word). Great projects. thanks for sharing.
    I need to find a box of sequins. guess I’ll go shopping. You would think I would have all kinds of them around here – I’ve been around for a long time – but I don’t know where they are if there are here.

  12. hope permalink
    April 12, 2014 7:48 am

    What glue do you use for sequins?

    • judka permalink
      April 12, 2014 7:53 am

      Hope, thanks so much for stopping by! I use Glossy Accents ,, just a tiny drop… to apply the sequins.

  13. Carol Jones permalink
    April 12, 2014 7:52 am

    You’re my absolute favorite blogger ever — thanks so much for the inspiration, the humor, and the cute Cooper pictures….

    • judka permalink
      April 12, 2014 7:53 am

      Carol, you just made my day!! Thanks so much!!

  14. Judy B permalink
    April 12, 2014 8:24 am

    That first card with the black cardstock and orange flower stole my heart. So gorgeous. Thanks for sharing with us.

  15. April 12, 2014 8:38 am

    Cooper greeting Mr RWS really gave me a smile. So did you with your sequins – I’ve not got many of those yet & I haven’t even seen an enamel dot here in the mountains of Wales. I love the effect of them with your first card which is such a stunner. The sequins in your second one echo the polka dots nicely don’t they? That’s a very interesting technique for your final project. Have a good week.
    Paula (PEP)

  16. Georgia Cressman permalink
    April 12, 2014 9:12 am

    Your work is so beautiful and unique! Thanks for sharing the techniques for each card.

  17. April 12, 2014 9:29 am

    Your the best at this blog thing. I’ve rarely been this entertained reading a blog. Then I get to see these lovely creations of yours. Love the gesso ideas…hadn’t thought of that. It’s always nice to hear from someone braver than I. Also, had all but forgotten chalk. Sure I have some around here somewhere. I’ll dig it out soon. Cooper looks so delighted to see his person again. What a relief for him to know he has his playmate back..Your granddaught’s Easter do and frock are perfect enhancements to that adorable, chubby-cheeked face.

  18. April 12, 2014 10:16 am

    Lovely Hip and Modern creations LOL! Still chuckling over the fact that every package is a surprise…I am the same!

  19. ThePurplePlace permalink
    April 12, 2014 10:19 am

    Oh Judy — As if I was not already in LOVE with this wonderful new PB Release, I’m now dying to try my hand at using some of my new stamps on a black background. They are all absolutely gorgeous and I’m especially in love with the first card, as that’s one of my favorite new stamps! It’s also a JOY to read about your sweet little Cooper and how excited he was to see “Daddy” arriving back home!! We have a ritual like that here every afternoon when my Hubby arrives home from work, the two little girls are like Jumping Beans and all always so excited when the car hit the driveway! Our dogs are truly wonderful little companions and love us dearly!! Thanks also for share your adorable little grand-daughter….some day I hope to have one of my own and it wont’ be soon enough for me!! 🙂

  20. bdengler4 permalink
    April 12, 2014 10:22 am

    It is always such a treat reading your posts here, Judy! Love these cards and the fun techniques you used! Isn’t it fun to just sit and play? Beautiful results!

    I am so glad you shared the reunion photo with Larry and Cooper! What a joy that must have been to watch! And could Evie be any cuter?! I can’t believe how big she’s gotten! Such a sweetie! ♥

  21. Sharon Hayes permalink
    April 12, 2014 10:53 am

    This is my first day to read your blog. I’m not sure why I have not found you before this. I enjoyed your blog and your humor so much. Not remembering what is in the package of an order I placed is very familiar to me. I need to be making cards today, but I had a fall yesterday. It was the birdbath that got me the worst. Resting quietly while holding the ice bag on my ribs and the heating pad on my back. I am also a grandma and don’t have time for this….but your blog brought smiles and giggles. Thank you for that!

    • judka permalink
      April 12, 2014 10:59 am

      Sharon, I am so sorry about your fall … I took a big one in front of about 40 people last week. No injuries, just my pride. I am so glad you found me on the Penny Black blog and I could help you smile. Be careful with that heating pad .. I’ve had a run in there, too!!

  22. Daria permalink
    April 12, 2014 11:50 am

    I’m sitting here with a silly grin on my face. I enjoyed every word of your post–especially the part about the arrival of the package you ordered being a surprise. Oh, yeah. (Please notice I refrained from using exclamation points, but it wasn’t easy.) You cards are wonderful, and I loved reading about how they evolved. I need to try that chalk and embossing technique you used.

    I’m so glad that Cooper is once again happy.
    Thank you for brightening up my day.

  23. Jean Bullock permalink
    April 12, 2014 12:43 pm

    the cards look wonderful. I loved seeing your sweet granddaughter and the Cooper story was so sweet. I can just see him flying out the door to greet his buddy.

  24. April 12, 2014 7:49 pm

    Judy, your posts do indeed make me smile! Love all three of your cards, especially the one with the aqua ribbon – I love ribbon, too! I will have to try adding some black to my card designs – you have shown how much it makes the other colors pop. So glad you shared the reunion photo of Larry and Cooper – amazing how happy our furry ones are when everyone is where they are supposed to be! Evelyn Rose could not be any cuter in her adorable Easter dress! Love her long hair, too! Yes, used lots of exclamation marks just for you!!! hugs…

  25. April 12, 2014 9:34 pm

    Boy did you have FUN….great results too!
    TFS
    Jan

  26. Dawn Turley permalink
    April 12, 2014 10:32 pm

    Another throughly entertaining post Judy. I laughed out loud about your sequin purchases! And I can agree with you about errant seqins I found some outside on my deck this morning, must have been stuck to fhe bottom of my bare feet. Thank you for inspiring us with your gorgeous cards

  27. Kelly F. permalink
    April 13, 2014 12:39 am

    Delightful post today and isn’t it fun to try new things! I don’t usually have the successful results that you obtained today, but I keep on trying! Thanks for all you do to inspire and encourage us!

  28. April 13, 2014 7:58 am

    Great ideas here… never saw gesso used with stamps like this before, pretty cool effect. I haven’t any sequins YET (hehehe). Thanks for the link to that blog hop – I did miss it and am happy to take you at your word that it’s one of the best and I will start to work my way through it now.

  29. Donna Whitten permalink
    April 13, 2014 8:58 am

    Love your projects with the hip sequins! Great job!

  30. April 13, 2014 10:46 am

    GORGEOUS cards Judy….. Love them ALL! Wow….. and Loved the Story about Cooper missing his Hero and Evelyn Rose is just precious!! Miss you mu friend…..xoxoxoxoxo

  31. April 14, 2014 4:56 pm

    Amazing cards – cute baby and dog! You are now the sequin queen! Looking forward to see you using them!

  32. April 14, 2014 5:12 pm

    Thank you for sharing. I’m returning to stamping after several years and just found out about Penny Black stamps. Loved your comment about being surprised when a package comes in – I do the same thing! Appreciate your ideas on being a little more hip and modern. 🙂

    • judka permalink
      April 14, 2014 6:27 pm

      MJ, so glad you discovered Penny Black! Welcome back to stamping. And thanks for commenting!

  33. Linda S. permalink
    April 15, 2014 4:49 pm

    I am a few days late at reading your blog, but I am glad I still took the time. I got such a kick out of your sequin story, and the surprise packages that arrive at the door. When I don’t remember ordering something that arrives in a package, I just tell myself that the company threw it in as a surprise “Thank You” gift. Works every time. Your Granddaughter is adorable and I bet lots of fun. Cooper’s photos and story were the best. Our pets miss us terribly when we are not home. And, Oh, did you make cards this week? Just teasing, they were beautiful. Thanks for the smiles and sharing your life. Linda

Leave a comment