Skip to content

Runs with CUTE Scissors!

March 14, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

I feel like a kid in a candy store today because this week has been all about cute and adorable. Oh, how I have enjoyed the incredible inspiration by the designers this week. I love florals. I love elegant. I love classic. But most of all, I love cute and adorable. And when Penny Black’s new release is titled Bring on the Happy, you know there will be cute and adorable.

The best part? Everyone’s left the stamps and dies behind for me to play with today. Cats, dogs, forest critters, Mimi, cupcakes, birthday cakes, and sweet fairies are all here. Everything I need to make cute and adorable cards.

1

Can you hear the Charlie Brown theme song playing? This little pup is the definition of “happy dance”. The Man’s Best Friend transparent set has a kennel full of cute and adorable doggie images. I colored this one with Prismacolor pencils and Gamsol, then fussy cut his cute self and mounted him on the circle. Can you tell I had fun with the designer paper from the Beau Jardin designer paper pad?

2

I created this sweet scene using the Woodland Friends and Sprigs transparent sets. The background consists of the Petals diecut over designer paper. I love adding texture to backgrounds with the Petals die. The images are colored with Copic markers.

3

Once again, I’ve used the Petals die to create a background for this adorable cutie and her snail pal. (I say when you have a good idea, use it!) Her dress and shoes are paper pieced to match the card base. These images are from the Missing You transparent set, which has even more sweet fairy images.

I have a story to tell (surprise!). Whenever I hear the word “cute” I am reminded of the time several co-workers and I met after work on a Friday evening for refreshments and the celebration of TGIF. The discussion, of course, turned to work and someone mentioned the name of a female co-worker not present. We had several co-workers with that same name so someone asked which “Barb” is that. Helpful me, I said, “Oh, she’s the cute Barb”. And instead of leaving it at that, I added, “I have always wanted to be cute”.

For some reason, a young man in the group found it necessary to call out, “Judy, you are twenty years past cute”!

Now this may seem like a very rude remark but actually he was flattering me. At that point, I was at least thirty years past cute!

Of course, as soon as he said it, the young man was embarrassed and apologized. I didn’t mind at all as he was our “go to” IT person and this gave me leverage. We agreed that I wouldn’t repeat this story at work if he promised my IT requests would go to the top of his In Basket.   I feel free to tell this story now as we have both retired from the work world and the statute of limitations has run out on what happens at after work gatherings when refreshments are being served.

4

This smiley guy reminds me of Cooper and his love for his doggie bed. Once again, the image, colored with Prismacolor pencils, is from Man’s Best Friend placed in the frame from the Polaroid die set.

5

Penny Black has coordinated designer paper and stamped images in the Bring on the Happy release. So easy to make a quick card using the sentiments and images in the Come Rain or Shine transparent set when paired with the matching paper.

6

Here’s cute and adorable Mimi celebrating a birthday. I’ve used the By the Numbers die and designer paper from Beau Jardin to create the background. Don’t you love how the numbers are decorated with pretty roses? This transparent set Happy Days includes more Mimi’s for more cute and adorable stamping.

7

I think we finally got it right when we ordered this bed from Santa for Cooper this past Christmas. It is our third try to get it right . Our first doggie bed purchase was actually more suitable for a small kitten (I know that because I found it in the cat section at the big box store). The photo we had of Cooper before adopting him made him appear tiny, so everything I bought before we brought him home was small; dishes, collar, leash and bed.

We were surprised (and delighted) when we went to bring him home to see he was not tiny, but a medium sized 20 lb. dog.

Of course, we replaced the dishes, collar and leash as well as the tiny bed. I ordered a relatively expensive “dog-a-pedic” mattress-type dog bed for him and he never liked it. The only time he slept on it was when we left him with his dog sitting family when we traveled.

So I wrote Santa a letter requesting a new dog bed for Cooper. And Santa got it right. Cooper happily snoozes in his bed during the day and sleeps soundly in it at night. He prefers to have his bed located at the end of the hallway leading to the bedrooms which allows him to survey his entire kingdom. Most of all, it is a clear view into the kitchen where the real love of his life resides: food.

Now that we’ve changed to Daylight Savings Time Cooper’s inner clock correctly coincides with his meal times. Poor little guy; before the time change he would show up at his food dish an hour early for every meal.

I hope you noticed I didn’t mention or whine about the weather this time. All the cute and adorable art swept away my recent negative attitude.

Speaking of negative … it’s time to put away the stamps, dies, paper and of course, the scissors. Thank you Penny Black for leaving things where I could find them. I hope you can see how much I enjoyed this week’s theme of cute and adorable.

Thanks for sharing your time with me. I may not be cute but I recognize it when I see it. And this Bring on the Happy release has enough cute and adorable to satisfy anyone’s craving. I would love to see your cute and adorable cards in the Penny Circle Flickr gallery. And thank you for your wonderful comments: they make my day!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

17 Comments leave one →
  1. donna mikasa permalink
    March 14, 2015 1:13 am

    Oh, cute is SO your genre, Judy! I love your adorable cards–especially that woodland scene!
    And I love how you end all your episodes with a little Cooper. He’s the cutest!

  2. Dianne Crowe permalink
    March 14, 2015 4:12 am

    Love all your cute cards today Judy, I looked them over a second time and can’t decide which one I like best. Cooper looks very comfortable in his new bed, our little dog came with a big bed and now that is it raggy resides in a back room. The new one in the kitchen area is only used occasionally. Thanks for sharing your cards and stories with us.

  3. March 14, 2015 5:21 am

    Ooh your cards are all so cute! The woodland friends one is my absolute favourite! Cooper looks so cosy in his bed. Thank you all your inspiration and stories xxx

  4. Marliese permalink
    March 14, 2015 5:24 am

    I’m always delighted to see Running With Scissors featured. I know that, not only will there be some beautiful cards, but a wonderful story or two to go with them. But, the best part is that I always learn something. Alas, Bring on the Happy is putting me in the poor house. Love the stamps – I want them all! Paper too!

  5. bdengler4 permalink
    March 14, 2015 7:52 am

    I happen to think you’re very cute, Judy! Lol! Love your adorable cards today! ♥

  6. ThePurplePlace permalink
    March 14, 2015 8:22 am

    Wonderful cards as always, Judy! I’m loving all the cute new animals! Cooper looks very comfy and content!!

  7. Kay Miller permalink
    March 14, 2015 8:41 am

    OH I am just like you! I like elegant, florals, and classic, but I LOVE cute!! And your cards are SO cute! I love them all! I enjoyed the story about your coworker! So funny! And Cooper is such a cutie! I love dogs too. I have three, but would have more if the hubby hadn’t set a limit 🙂

  8. Jan Castle permalink
    March 14, 2015 9:25 am

    I know it makes you happy that Cooper is happy…Santa did a good job! Your cards are, well, CUTE!
    TFS a,
    Jan

  9. March 14, 2015 1:22 pm

    Cute, cute, cute…that;s what I think of all your cards and these wonderful Saturday posts.

  10. knurse22 permalink
    March 14, 2015 2:40 pm

    Well, you are CUTE in my mind, Judy…..and your work is the epitome of CUTE! Love your style! Keep it comin’!!!

  11. Linda S. in NE permalink
    March 14, 2015 2:49 pm

    I can’t even choose a favorite card this week, Judy. You do wonders with all coloring mediums. It seems that all dogs enjoy a bed where they can snuggle up and rest their back against the pillow around the outside of their bed. I often wonder if it doesn’t remind them of when they were just new pups and could snuggle with their brothers and sisters. Thanks for sharing your cute talents with us this week.

  12. dawnnz permalink
    March 14, 2015 7:59 pm

    all your cards are simply adorable. I LOVE adorable and these are amazing. Penny Black do the best adorable stamps ever.
    Cooper looks happy on his bed.

  13. Maria permalink
    March 15, 2015 4:35 am

    Lovely, adorable, cute cards ! I love following your crafting,
    stories and not least Coopers life . He is really cute and
    sure so are you 🙂

  14. alexandra s.m. permalink
    March 15, 2015 1:51 pm

    You’re so creative Judy!
    Love your cards!
    Thanks for the inspiration!!

  15. March 18, 2015 7:13 pm

    You are the queen of cute, Ms Judy! I love your post–darling cards! My favorite is the doggy in the bed–just like cutie pie Cooper! So glad he likes his new bed–& blanket!

  16. March 18, 2015 10:04 pm

    Oh my…..these are so very cute and adorable!!!! And so is Cooper and the story of his new bed. I don’t whether I look forward more to your card designs, or hearing about Cooper’s antics!

  17. Tracy Pelfrey permalink
    March 24, 2015 6:43 pm

    They are all so cute and so delightful to watch as they are being created.

Leave a comment