Skip to content

Fun Friday Feature

December 11, 2015

Another fabulous friend has found her way to our blog this Friday!

fabulous-friends-banner

Welcome, Gayatri Murali! Take it away!

Gayatri-Murali

Hello Penny Black fans, I am privileged to be invited to share my Penny Black cards on this blog today. Many of you know I have been sharing a lot of Penny Black cards on my blog. I love Penny Black products. They are beautiful, delicate, intricate, unique yet easy to work with. I particularly love their unique intricate dies. And I enjoy making cards with Penny Black products especially using techniques. Today I have two cards to share with you. One card uses the “in laid” technique with dies and the other showcases the masking and coloring technique.

gayatri

For this card, I played with Snowy Grove stamp set and Prestige intricate die to make a shaker box. I then inlaid the shaker box inside the negative circle on the card front panel. I sponged the front panel with some coral distress inks and spattered with water for added interest. Then I wrapped gold twine around the inlaid shaker box and tied a bow to make it look like a bauble. I love the background using the Snowy Grove stamp set. It gives depth when the gold reindeer is overlayed. The seed beads look like snow inside the shaker box. Just beautiful. The sentiment is from Season’s Gift stamp set which is stamped using black ink.

gayatri2

Downloadable supplies and instructions HERE.

For my second card, I used the Twinkle & Wish stamp set. I love the cute festive look of the girls in the set.

gayatri3

I used the masking technique to mask one girl and stamp the other next to the first. Then I colored the images using copic markers. Then I brushed the scarf, beanie, the red ribbon and shoes with Wink of Stella clear shimmer pen. I fussy cut the image out with scissors.

One the card front, I masked the bottom part and sponged salty ocean distress ink to give a beautiful winter background. Then I stamped the snowflakes with blue pigment ink. Pigment ink give a bit of dimension to the image as the ink sits on top of the cardstock. I love that subtle dimension. For the snow mound, I freehand cut couple of white glitter papers. I layered and glued them to the bottom of the card front. Then I foam mounted the colored image over the snow mound. Wrapped silver twine was used to make a bow on the snow mound. The sentiment is from the Twinkle & Wish stamp set, simply stamped on a strip of white cardstock, trimmed a fish tail end and adhered. I love the both the girls together, cozy and warm with their coats, scarf, hat and beanie with a wintery background.

gayatri4

Downloadable supplies and instructions HERE.

Hope you like my cards today. Thank you so much for inviting me to share my Penny Black cards. It is a privilege and fun playing with Penny Black products. Thanks for stopping by today!

post-dividing-line1

Oh, Gayatri! Thank YOU for all of the inspiration today…and on your blog!

Are you loving Gayatri’s style as much as us? You can get even more design ideas by clicking the links below:

A Scenic Christmas Card

Beary Happy

Runway Inspired

post-dividing-line1

And don’t forget…

birgit-banner

“Like” our page on Facebook for exclusive inspiration by Birgit Edblom!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. knurse22 permalink
    December 11, 2015 5:41 am

    Such cute cards! I really like your bold coloring on the second one, too!

  2. December 11, 2015 5:46 am

    Wonderful cards !

  3. December 11, 2015 9:18 am

    WOW!!! SUPER JOB on both of your cards, Gayatri!!!!! WHAT WONDERFUL WORK you’ve done on these cards! I am SMITTEN with the first card, I should tell you!!!! 😉 I noticed all the little details you’ve mentioned!!! JUST GORGEOUS!!!!

  4. Shari permalink
    December 11, 2015 2:01 pm

    These cards are beautiful. ♥♥♥

  5. hobbitnoll permalink
    December 11, 2015 5:57 pm

    What lovely cards!!

Leave a comment