Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

December 17, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Welcome, Penny Black friends and Merry Christmas season. If it is not your custom to celebrate Christmas, I wish you the happiest of holiday seasons.

As I write this, I have a favorite CD of Christmas music playing softly. Christmas is filled with memories and the familiar music of the season is one of them. Each year at this time I resolve to play Christmas music all year long, but somehow that never happens. I believe it is an idea worth pursuing, though.

And at last, I am happy to present to you the 16th and last Snowy card I made to keep my promise to make a Snowy card every week from late August until my Christmas post.

1

Snowy and I are both delighted that the challenge has been met. It’s been fun learning more about his story and meeting his family. Snowy tells me he’s happy to have spent time on the Penny Black blog and feels the most confident when he sees me safely stowing away my scissors. Seems to me, however, the space heater would be more of a threat than my scissors!

snowy-collage

Thank you to the Christmas Elf that created this collage of the stamp that started it all along with the fifteen Snowy cards I made with it this season.

Ah yes, Christmastime. As I said, it is a time of memories. I can close my eyes and it’s like a film of Christmases Past plays in my head. I recall vividly a special Christmas that took place when I was about six years old.

My Dad enlisted in the Army when I was about five years old. As it turned out, this was the start of his 30 year military career. I remember clearly the dark early morning he left our house for basic training. From there he was assigned to Oak Ridge, Tennessee as a member of the Military Police.

While we were able to join him there eventually, that first Christmas he was away from us was a very sad time for my mom. But that Christmas eve, she dressed my sister and I in our Christmas dresses (along with the dreaded long cotton stockings hooked to our mini garter belts) and we ventured to my grandmother’s home where my mother’s siblings and my cousins all gathered for Christmas Eve. It was not easy for my mom to display any Christmas spirit knowing her husband was so far away. My sister and I had been wishing for months that Santa Claus could bring my father home so that our mother wouldn’t be sad at Christmas.

Just before it was time to gather at the table for the Christmas Eve meal, we kids sensed something was happening. The grown ups were whispering to each other and my grandparents were speaking loudly in Polish, something they did when they didn’t want the kids to know what was going on. There was a feeling of electricity in the air. Suddenly, we heard loud thumping on the steps leading to the second story duplex where we were. Then there was pounding on the kitchen door. My sister, our cousins and I were all wondering if this could be Santa … and then, finally, the door flew open and there he was … my Dad!!

My sister and I could not believe our eyes. There was our Dad in his army uniform, which we had not seen before, reaching out to hug and hold my Mom who had totally been taken by surprise and was crying big tears of joy.  I don’t really remember anything more that happened that Christmas. I do remember being totally amazed that Santa Claus could make such a big wish happen.

3

Here is Cooper, wearing only his pretty birthday suit! I had dressed him in his festive red cape/collar with tiny jingle bells attached, along with his black silk top hat trimmed with holly with the intention of posting his Christmas portrait. However, it made him very sad to have to wear that outfit. The last thing I wanted to do was make Cooper sad at Christmas, so here he is sitting in front of the new Christmas tree, wishing you Christmas Joy.

We will be just the three of us for Christmas as the adult kids either travel or carry out the traditions they are establishing with their own families. The plans are to create our family Christmas early in January when we gather in Wisconsin. As we did last year on Christmas Eve, we will attend the family Christmas service at our church and smile as we watch the little ones enact the Christmas story. No candlelight service with solemn versions of Silent Night that can start the tears flowing.

Mr. RWS, Cooper and I wish for all of you moments of joy among the hustle and bustle of preparing for the holiday. I hope for all of you that your memories of Christmases Past will fill in any spaces left empty by loved ones no longer here. I hope there will be happy surprises along the way. And when this Christmas is filed away with all the others, I hope you can one day recall it as one of the best ever.

It is time for me to scoot home and bake a few cookies, wrap a present or two, and spend time enjoying this special time of year. Merry Christmas to all of you and a safe and happy New Year. Thank you for the wonderful messages you leave for me each week and for sharing the bits of your life that connect us through our stories. I will be stowing the scissors until I see you all again on January 6th when I will be playing with the new Follow Your Heart release.

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Snowy Card #16: 2521K Snowy, 30-378 Cuddly Joy, 51-053 A Pocketful, 51-282 Cuddly Winter, 51-266 Frosty/Snow Match, 80-013 Holiday Trimmings

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

38 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia Gasko permalink
    December 17, 2016 1:37 am

    Looking at all the Snowy cards grouped together makes quite a collection and hard to say I have a favorite one. I love all of them. Oh Cooper is so precious no fancy attire needed. Wishing you and yours a blessed and a very Merry Christmas. See you in the New Year!

  2. December 17, 2016 1:43 am

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, thank you for brightening my Saturday mornings with your posts throughout the year. Looking forward to your return in January, in the meantime have some well deserved rest and fun ! x

  3. December 17, 2016 2:59 am

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Thanks for sharing your talent and your memories and especially your story telling abilities. Give a big hug to Cooper too!

  4. Fran Gumprecht permalink
    December 17, 2016 3:57 am

    Merry Christmas!

  5. creatingincolors permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:20 am

    Wishing you all the best for Christmas and the New Year. Thank you for all of the gifts you give your readers all year long through your blog – beautiful cards, stories, and thoughts. Enjoy your holiday season. I’ll look forward to January when you return. P.S. I’m going to miss Snowy!

  6. Connie Schulz permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:26 am

    Merry Christmas to you too. Keep the stories going as do enjoy them as well as the cards.

  7. Tina H permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:34 am

    Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year!

  8. karenajo permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:35 am

    Thank you Judy for this year of delightful posts and for sharing all your treasured moments with us ! Snowy would be proud of the wonderful creations you made with him! Thanks for sharing Cooper – he is adorable ! Look forward to your 2017 stories and inspiration! Merry Christmas!

  9. Frankie permalink
    December 17, 2016 4:45 am

    Judy, thank you for being you. You inspire us in so many ways. Merry Christmas!

  10. jillianfoster82 permalink*
    December 17, 2016 5:12 am

    Merry Christmas, dear Judy! Thanks for all of the amazing inspiration and happy smiles in 2016. Looking forward to all 2017 will hold!! HUGS!

  11. Linda Page permalink
    December 17, 2016 5:17 am

    Merry Christmas to you, Mr. RWS and Cooper! Many, many thanks for all of the joy and laughter and creativity that you bring to us throughout the year. Wishing you a fantastic 2017!

  12. Diane permalink
    December 17, 2016 5:39 am

    Merry Christmas! I knew your message would be special and I couldn’t wait to read what you said. Thank you!

  13. knurse22 permalink
    December 17, 2016 5:52 am

    I have enjoyed each and every Snowy card this season—thanks so much for sharing them, along with all your wonderful stories and adventures. Wishing you joy and peace at this Christmas, and health and happiness in the new year. ‘See’ you again soon!

  14. Barb permalink
    December 17, 2016 6:01 am

    Merry Christmas from snowy and v-e-r-y cold Minnesota! I love your stories and your cards!!

  15. mjmarmo permalink
    December 17, 2016 6:13 am

    MErry Christmas! What a wonderful memory. We also have grown, married children and it makes it so much more difficult to carry on the traditions. This year my husband and my self and my son and his wife will be traveling to Phoenix to spend Christmas with my daughter and her husband. Jennifer is expecting our first grandchild! Our little girl will be born in April. It will be different having Christmas there but we will all be together.

  16. December 17, 2016 6:14 am

    Merry Christmas, hope you know how much we have enjoy and are inspired by your stories and cards this year. I look forward to more in 2017.

  17. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    December 17, 2016 7:22 am

    What a wonderful Christmas memory you shared with us. That must have been one of the best for you as I think it would have been for me it that had occurred. And, Cooper looks so festive too. Such a cutie. You and yours have a most blessed Christmas and a great new year.

  18. Debra permalink
    December 17, 2016 7:37 am

    Judy, I always look forward to your posts and this one was especially anticipated. It’s absolutely my favorite time of the whole year! You sound very calm, with the peace that comes once baking, shopping, and wrapping are all done. This is what I wish for every year, but it never seems to happen. I am continually wrapping gifts on Christmas Eve, thinking I’ve only got a few. Somehow time gets away from me and there I am, still wrapping after midnight. I’m a bit jealous of your calmness .. but I am now officially on vacation, so we’ll see what miracles I can pull off! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 17, 2016 7:58 am

      Debra, enjoy the chaos and busyness! While you would like my “calm”, I miss the wrapping of gifts, baking for the kids, shopping for last minute stuff, preparing for a large family gathering, etc. Your time will come for a “calm” Christmas and you, too, will miss the activity. Merry Christmas!!

  19. Judy permalink
    December 17, 2016 8:02 am

    Loved each and every one of your Snowy cards! They are each cute in their own way.
    Wishing you all the blessings of this holy season.

  20. Donna Whitten permalink
    December 17, 2016 8:38 am

    Can’t begin to tell you how much I enjoy your posts! Thanks! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  21. Jane permalink
    December 17, 2016 9:10 am

    I’ve been remembering large family Christmases this year too. It has been twenty years since we established our own quiet, calm, just us Christmas traditions. I hope you will find as we did that both kinds of Christmas have their special blessings. Thank you for the weekly posts. I’ve looked forward to every one.

  22. DebbieP permalink
    December 17, 2016 9:49 am

    I still can’t believe Christmas is next week. Where has this year gone? Thank you for each Saturday morning started with your wonderful cards and stories and inspiration! I wish you and your family (including Cooper) a wonderful Merry Christmas!

  23. barbara lassiter permalink
    December 17, 2016 9:51 am

    Lovely remembrance from times past at Christmas. Thanks for sharing! Have a most enjoyable Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Love Cooper and Snowy! 🙂

  24. December 17, 2016 10:04 am

    Your PB post is always a delight to visit, Judy! Wish you and family (and Cooper, of course) a very Merry Christmas!

  25. Jan Castle permalink
    December 17, 2016 10:17 am

    Thank you each month for your inspiration Judy…I really enjoyed your Snowy challenge and now have him too (and the die) to use after I move and am settled in 2017. I appreciate your sharing and encouragement so much…while alone this year will be reflecting on past Christmas times spent with Jim and family, listening to the wonderful Christmas music, and having dinner with a friend and her daughter on Christmas day. Mixed emotions this year for sure, but remembering that Jesus is the reason for the season!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  26. jane harrah permalink
    December 17, 2016 10:47 am

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and Happy New year. I have so enjoyed your love of Snowy which is only equaled by mine! I adore his smiling face. He is the perfect size and has the right look to be top snowman for me every year!! I hope your holidays are blessed with laughter and love. thanks so much for the fun stories and the laughter of sharing your family. Again, Merry Christmas.

  27. December 17, 2016 7:19 pm

    Judy, with each of your sweet snowy cards I realize I MUST get that snowman stamp! I just can’t resist him! Your cards are are delightful, and I loved reading your post and memories of Christmas miracles as a child. That is the magic of Christmas, right there! Best wishes to you and yours for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  28. December 17, 2016 7:51 pm

    Have a very merry Christmas, Judy! That is an amazing Christmas memory! I’ve loved seeing every Snowy card–great job meeting your goal & lucky recipients! Cooper is a cutie pie–doesn’t need an outfit!

  29. Kathy H permalink
    December 17, 2016 8:11 pm

    Thank you for all the joy you have. brought to my holiday season. Merry Christmas and all good wishes for the new year!

  30. Carla Hundley permalink
    December 17, 2016 8:35 pm

    Merry Christmas and
    Happy New Year! Love
    your stories.
    Carla from Utah

  31. dawnnz permalink
    December 17, 2016 10:14 pm

    Wishing you, Mr RWS and Cooper a joyous and peaceful Christmas. Our Christmas will start with our son and his girlfriend here for breakfast, before hubby and I have a solo Christmas lunch before heading round to said son’s place for left overs for dinner. Missing having my parents and daughter, son in law and grandson here this year.
    Take care and look forward to more wonderful creations next year. Hugs Dawn

  32. val jones permalink
    December 18, 2016 12:57 am

    Hi, I haven’t commented on your blog before but every week look forward to reading your wonderful stories and catching up with Coopers exploit ‘s.
    May I wish you a very happy Christmas and a healthy and peaceful new year.
    Best Wishes from Val in Spain x

  33. December 18, 2016 9:08 am

    Love these Xmas cards!!!

  34. Paula in GA permalink
    December 18, 2016 1:00 pm

    I just love your blog. I adore all Penny Black stuff, but I must admit, I most enjoy your stories. They’re humorous & sweet. Have a joyful Christmas!

  35. Judy Wheeler permalink
    December 19, 2016 1:29 pm

    Loved the story about your father…a real Christmas message of love. Thanks for sharing and Merry Christmas!

  36. Marisela Delgado permalink
    December 23, 2016 3:08 pm

    Merry Christmas, Cooper! Have a great holiday with your parents! =) My beagle named Monster used to get sad whenever we tried to make him wear his collar. He would go limp and refused to move like the collar weighed a million pounds so we just let him go naked. He was an inside dog so we didn’t worry about it too much. We miss our little boy. Have a wonderful Christmas and thanks for sharing Cooper with us. Feliz Navidad from San Antonio, Texas, where we are a warm 74*F. Marisela

  37. June Robinson permalink
    October 4, 2019 9:29 pm

    Hi very nice cards love this little man Snowy I’m June live in Australia would love to get Snowy do not know near me were there is a Penny Black Stamping store I’m 76 Nanna to eight young men and women one little GGSon 6 yrs do you sell them or could you tell me how to get the stamp Please, if I was younger and was going to see Family in England would get one thanks for reading this I will try and get one some how much regards all the best for Christmas. Yours Thankfully June

Leave a comment