Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

January 20, 2018

Hello, friends. The coughing, sneezing and whining are finished and I have put on my running shoes and picked up my scissors once again. My thanks to Cooper for doing such a fine job sharing his Christmas experience with you last week. He has read all the comments and is basking in the praise. I’m a bit worried that Penny Black Headquarters may decide that Cooper is the more talented and should be the permanent host of Runs with Scissors. I may have to remind them that he does not have opposable thumbs and he needs my help with the cutting and pasting.

Speaking of opposable thumbs, I’ve put mine to work this week using the Love and Roses release to make more Valentines. It is a joy to work with hearts, butterflies and flowers along with adorably cute images. I found myself not even missing Snowy this week.

This Butterfly Heart Pop Out is among my favorite Penny Black dies. What a beautiful combination of a heart and butterflies! Here I’ve used the Snowflake Stitch Frame for my base. I love coloring white cardstock with my inks and blender. Jill Foster has a video demonstrating the best way to blend inks smoothly. As Jill says, there is more depth and dimension to the color than you would get with preprinted colored cardstock. Blending inks onto white cardstock is worth the extra time.

This adorable Bubble Heart image is so fun to color with markers. I love adding that Heart String die cut to available space on my Valentines. These sweeties remind me of Evelyn and Jack who are about this age. Since they are in charge of bringing the mail into the house and sorting it, I will be putting this in the mail as a surprise for them to find.

Designer paper is always a good background for diecuts. I’ve used the Love and Roses die set and added a heart from the Sweet Heart die set. I colored the heart and flowers using Distress inks and a blending tool. Valentines are the perfect place to showcase those pretty papers you’ve been hoarding. You can not go wrong adding hearts and flowers to your love.

Do It Yourself

When I met Mr. RWS more than thrity years ago, there were many reasons to love him. I confess that the day he showed up with his toolbox and some power tools my feelings were confirmed: he would make the perfect husband.

At the time we met, I owned a one hundred year old home and had been a single mom for a while. My do it yourself skills were limited to tightening an occasional loose screw and using duct tape as needed.

Shortly after we married, Mr. RWS tackled the drafty windows, the rotten porch boards, and the deteriorating shower surround of that old house and when that was done, he even built us a picnic table.

We tackled updating and remodeling several homes over the years, including installing ceramic floors and kitchen cupboards. Mr. RWS did all the painting and I tackled the wallpaper stripping. We worked well as a team and always left a house in better shape than we found it.

Over the years we have found ourselves less enthusiastic about “do it yourself”, instead opting for “call someone else”. This past couple of years, especially, we relied on professionals to install the new hot water heater, build a new gate to the back yard, repair the garage door springs and replace the attic pull down stairs. We recognized, finally, that there were some jobs best left to others. I need to insert here that one of us recognized that need much sooner than the other.

Getting conked on the head while attempting to hold up the pull down attic stairs while Mr. RWS was in the attic banging on the hardware solidified my decision that our do it yourself days were over. Sometimes a good conk on the head is all it takes to clarify a situation!

My beloved mailbox

I’ve written before about our mailbox. It symbolizes the gratitude I have for receiving mail every day. During our full time RV’ing years, we received mail approximately every ten days and I’ve not taken daily mail delivery for granted since.

Sadly, last week, the wooden post holding up our mailbox surrendered to the wood rot that had eaten through its base. (The car barely nudged it, I swear!)   Down went the mailbox! The mail carrier was due in our neighborhood within the hour; not enough time to purchase and install a new post. We had to find some way to keep that mailbox at the curb.

Necessity is the mother of invention

I am embarrassed to admit, this was my idea. The base is a step stool Mr. RWS rescued from the neighbor’s curb where it had been put with the trash. He repaired the bottom step and declared it “perfectly good”. Duct tape was briefly considered to hold the mail box in place, until I realized bungee cords would work and would leave no damage or sticky residue behind.

Thankfully, this disaster only remained in front of our house for 48 hours, the time it took for us to shop for and install a new post on which to mount the black metal box. Time was also spent convincing Mr. RWS that this was not an acceptable permanent solution.

The shopping became more complex than one would imagine as posts and mail boxes range in price from $30 up to $400 and more! We also had to find a way to install the post without the use of a posthole digger into frozen ground.

I would show you a photo of the new post, but it is almost as pathetic as the “do it yourself” mail box shown above. (It does not fall into the $400 category). It is too cold to paint and we can’t mount the house numbers until after the post is painted. The new cedar post may be ugly, but it is not nearly as outrageous as our temporary system. And cars no longer stop to gawk as they drive by.

Yes, since this seems to be the best we can do lately, it is good we are out of the “do it yourself” mode.

Here I’ve used colored cardstock along with three dies to make a quick and easy and pretty Valentine. The Heart Drops die makes a great background for any die or image you choose to add. If you are sending many Valentines, this is an easy to make, assembly line fashion, card. The Heart Drops diecut would be at home on wedding and anniversary cards, too.

The kraft, brown and pink color combination I used in this card reminds me of an ice cream sundae, which should make any guy happy. That kitty from the So Loved set is irresistible and fun to color. The Love and Roses release includes enough images and dies to make Valentines, and other “share the love” cards that please everyone from little kiddles to couples, to friends, and to all the men and women in our lives.

This time, it is kraft and white, another good color combo for the men. I’ve filled in some of the blank space on the kraft base with the leaf image from the Hope Shines transparent set. The Heart Butterflies have attached themselves to a strip of gingham ribbon.

Cooper has set aside his writing career for now and is spending more time with one of his favorite toys. It’s a hedgehog with a duck call implanted instead of a typical squeaker. The sound surprises him every time he manages to bite the hedgy hard enough.

Once again, my time in the Penny Black studio is up. I need to do a quick clean up and put away and then I will be off to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery to enjoy the cards I find there. I appreciate all the good wishes you sent while I was dealing with my Christmas cold. It will be a few weeks, I suppose, before Cooper’s head returns to normal size after all the positive comments. Little does he know that I am planning to find a way for him to take over the vacuuming and dusting since he’s shown such willingness to help.

Ooops! I almost forgot to stow the scissors!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 51-132 Flights of Fancy, 51-284 Filled with Love, 51-291 Butterfly Heart Pop Out, 51-315 Snowflake Stitch Frame

Card No. 2: 30-458 Heart You, 40-272 Bubble Heart, 51-022 Heart String

Card No. 3: 51-184 Sweet Heart, 51-397 Antique Frame, 51-405 Love and Roses, 80-009 Painted Blossoms

Card No. 4: 51-022 Heart String, 51-183 True Love, 51-298 Heart Drops

Card No. 5: 30-457 So Loved, 51-292 Just For You, 51-397 Antique Frame

Card No. 6: 30-455 Smitten, 30-432 Hope Shines, 51-297 Heart Butterfly

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

19 Comments leave one →
  1. dawnnz permalink
    January 20, 2018 1:06 am

    Glad you are well again Judy. Cooper did an adequate job… as you say, he still needs help! Your cards today are just gorgeous. I feel for you with your post box saga. Mine is on a lean (has a metal pole) and has no flap on the back. The new one has been sitting in the garage for 5 years waiting to be installed, all the time the pole is getting more and more on a lean!

  2. Bonnie Kasper permalink
    January 20, 2018 2:56 am

    Judy, I love your “make do” solution to your mailbox problem. Thanks for sharing and bring a bit of humor into all of our hearts! Cards are all special too. B

  3. Jan Pignanelli permalink
    January 20, 2018 4:33 am

    Your creativity is a wonderful thing…..for mailboxes (well…very interesting,,) and those sweet Valentine’s cards! Thanks for the Saturday morning chuckle, Judy!

  4. creatingincolors permalink
    January 20, 2018 5:33 am

    You always make me smile, and I have to believe your creative mailbox also made smiles for the mail carrier and all passers-by on your street. Too funny. I agree with you that it is wise to know when to quit the DIY projects. My favorite card this week is the kitten holding the pink heart. Glad you are feeling better.

  5. Diane F permalink
    January 20, 2018 6:36 am

    Beautiful cards – all worthy of inspiring me for the weekend. Thank you.

    The letter box made me laugh !! Necessity is the mother of invention, as they say ! Not a permanent solution but when you have to make a plan in a hurry you use whatever is to hand. Did not think about the ground being frozen and having to dig a hole. It’s a long time since we had to have a letterbox with a pole attached – ours here in the UK are often a slot in the front door.

    Pleased you are feeling better. Cooper was a star !

  6. January 20, 2018 9:30 am

    Your poor mail box!! I know how that goes. We have had our mailbox plowed over by a snowplow and had to fix it before. Hard in the winter. LOVE all the beautiful cards!!!

  7. Jan Castle permalink
    January 20, 2018 9:54 am

    Delightful commentary Judy…Cooper can take a rest now! Your Kitty card and the kraft and white butterfly are my favorites this time – adorable cards!
    The important thing to remember (gawkers aside) is that you ARE getting your MAIL!!!
    Thank you for brightening my day in a delightful way!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  8. January 20, 2018 10:12 am

    We’re into “call a professional” these days, too–worth every penny in my book–haha! Love your mailbox story, Judy! Beautiful cards–really love those butterflies! Glad to see Cooper enjoying being a puppy dog (not that he wasn’t a wonderful RWS host!) & playing with his hedgie! I’m finally over my cold & glad you’re better, too!

  9. DebbieP permalink
    January 20, 2018 10:44 am

    Glad you are feeling better and back to hosting. Cooper did a good job, but…Love the cards this week, especially the butterfly card. I laughed when I saw the creative mailbox as it is without a doubt something my husband would come up with. He is a die-hard DIYer and very capable so we don’t need to get outside help – yet!. We are in the process of converting a large passenger van into an RV. I’ve read your RV stories and pray we won’t repeat your misadventures – we’ll make all our own. Have a good week and see you next Saturday.

    • judka permalink
      January 20, 2018 11:20 am

      Oh, Debbie! You will have stories to tell! In spite of all our misadventures, I wouldn’t want to have missed any of them. I say that now that I am sitting in a house without wheels. Have safe and happy travels.

  10. Gina Wallace permalink
    January 20, 2018 10:54 am

    I just love your cards and e mails and look forward to receiving each week – Thank you for bringing smiles to my Saturday’s

  11. jane harrah permalink
    January 20, 2018 5:02 pm

    Once again you manage to amuse and entertain with both your design skills and your laughter and ingenuity! total love for all your skills. Hugs and Happy New Year, Happy New Mailbox,

  12. barbara lassiter permalink
    January 20, 2018 7:24 pm

    Love the cards and especially the kraft and white card. Your mail box stand was one-of-a-kind and unique. Rain or shine, sleet or snow, the mail must go through. 🙂 I’m certain the new box will never have that much character! Happy Snail Mail!

  13. Deedster permalink
    January 21, 2018 6:43 am

    Judy, you never cease to entertain, inspire and give me a much-needed belly laugh. You really are a blessing. Look forward to reading your post every Sunday morning. This week’s ‘Kitty’ was my favourite. Much love to you and Cooper (and good ole Mr RWS, of course).

  14. karenajo permalink
    January 21, 2018 3:27 pm

    The Bubble Heart image is adorable and am sure Evelyn and Jack will love getting it ! Love your cards especially the ones on the kraft paper. Thank you for a great mailbox story – we never know when something will come in handy for a non-intended use. Very clever ! Glad Cooper is back to enjoying being a doggie after filling in for you. Glad you are better. Keep the inspiration and stories coming !

  15. kathleen barrett permalink
    January 21, 2018 6:22 pm

    I had a hearty LOL moment when I read about your temporary mailbox solution! We also are doing more calls for help rather than do-it-yourself. Seems every time we get a house in good shape, we move! Ugh! Also, when I first started reading your post and saw the Valentine theme, my first thought was if there would be a card that would be sent to Evelyn and Jack! You never fail to impress! LOVE it! I’m not a cat person (I have schnauzers) but that cat with the heart is soooo adorable. Wouldn’t mind getting that one at all! My Geena’s favorite toys are the ones that make odd sounds, too. We have a hedgehog, a frog, a cow, etc. But the favorite right now is Wonderdog, who shouts “Never fear, Underdog is here”!!! Ahhh, the pups, they are so fun! Love seeing Cooper every week! (Love seeing your cards, too!).

  16. Tracy permalink
    January 21, 2018 6:39 pm

    Laughing out loud at your mailbox solution, very clever, looks like something my husband would want to do. Also, wanted to share my dog also has decided hedgehog toys are the best, about the only ones he plays with now. He turned his last one into a rag, so Santa brought him a new one and it has both the regular squeeker and the duck call one, it is so funny to see their face when the duck call one goes off. Have a great week!

  17. Vicky S. permalink
    January 23, 2018 9:01 pm

    That was a great story about the mailbox. It gave me a good laugh.
    I like all your cards but especially the butterfly one.
    My husband enjoys your stories too because some of them bring back memories
    of our camping days. I look forward every week to your article.
    Have a great week & stay well no more colds.

  18. February 2, 2019 2:01 pm

    Hello Judy! I just found you here. I am from the Hero Arts Flickr group. Your stories are fun and your cards are very nice. I really enjoyed the dog story here because our two dogs have a whole bunch of hedgies with the honker thing in them. They love them. The newest is a chef.

Leave a comment