Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

March 2, 2019

Hello, Penny Black friends. I am feeling a bit like Rip Van Winkle lately. What happened to February? For some of you, I am sure, it’s good riddance to February with its wind, snow, ice and rain. Here in Northern Alabama the constant rains caused the Tennessee River, just a couple of miles from our home, to overflow its banks. The Fire Department just made a very impressive trip down our street passing out this notice:

Well, our home is not in a flood plain, but these are unusual circumstances. We will keep an eye out for flash flood warnings and be responsible citizens.

February may have brought rain and floods, but it also brought Penny Black’s new Timeless release, replete with flowers, cute critters, butterflies and birthday celebrations. Snowy or rainy days are perfect for crafting and I’ve taken advantage of the new release and bad weather to make these cards:

Sing ala Julie Andrews: “Rainbows and Teddy Bears, these are a few of my favorite things …”.   This rainbow background is made of strips of cardstock; the Flower Teddy stands in front of a circle cut from the Stitched Square and Circle die; and that sweet tiny sentiment is from the Lovely Birthday stamp set. I have noticed lately that my cards usually contain a lot of white space, so I am trying to be mindful of other options for backgrounds.

I’ve stamped the brushstroke stamp At Grace with a deep plum ink and then cut the card to a square, leaving room for the sentiment from the Good Wishes stamp set. Penny Black’s sentiments deserve to be center stage sometimes! I indulged my love for white space with this card and I’m happy to use that ten year old inkpad at least one more time.

Patterned paper is one more great way to create a background. Here I’ve used the vase and flower image included in the From the Garden set. After coloring the image with Copics I added Nuvo white dots to the vase and flower for interest. See that little green leaf? That is one of about 120 “stick pin” embellishments I rediscovered in my stash. I remember when those stickpins were very popular. I wonder how many card recipients were wounded in their use?

Dear Marie …

After a week of attempting a “ Life Changing Method of Tidying Up”, I felt the need to let Marie Kondo know of my experience. Thus, this letter:

Dear Marie Kondo;

Marie, I tried! I really, truly honestly tried! I know that your books have been translated into multiple languages and are read all around the world. I know that you reach even more people in more locations by way of your successful Netflix show (which I am sure brings you joy). But I have to let you know that there is one small brick home in northern Alabama where your system did not work.

Like I said, I tried. First I tackled my closet and managed to empty 60 hangers. Those were just blouses and tops. Accomplishing those sixty hangers took me two days, since I work in small bursts of energy. I couldn’t tackle the pants, of which there are way too many, because they are of three different sizes; let’s just say “small”, “medium” and “large”. I am hopeful that one day I will again fit into the smaller sizes which will bring me absolute joy. I’m sure you understand; if you don’t, many other women will.

My next target for decluttering was the bookcase. I was a bit more successful there, filling a box with outdated reference books including a huge Webster’s Dictionary which became obsolete once Google was created. However, the bookcase remains looking cluttered due to the family photos which bring great joy. How does one part with the older family photos when they are updated each Christmas? There is just too much joy in those faces to toss the older photos.

Marie, then there was the kitchen pantry cupboard. I did manage to toss many outdated items including the three cans of jellied cranberry sauce, representing the last three Thanksgiving dinners where it was not served. It seems cranberry sauce does not bring joy to anyone in our family. Oh, and there was the jar of turkey gravy; you know, just in case.

On the fourth day of decluttering, I tackled the bottom of the hallway closet. This is a wide space, with shelving from ceiling to floor. The floor is where I have large plastic storage containers whose purpose is to store seasonal decorative items. While I did manage to tidy things up, the only items I tossed were some inexpensive plastic flowers, a chipped decorative piece of pottery, and a glass Halloween pumpkin complete with cover. (And I wasn’t so sure that was a good idea, except I had two other pumpkins). I failed, however, to find the wooden Valentine heart to hang on the outside door. I hope it is bringing joy wherever it has gone off to.

Marie, I was still hopeful when I entered my craft room, anticipating a major decluttering operation. I started touching items, using the “does it bring me joy” test for each thing I touched. While I did manage to fill one kitchen trash bag with mostly damaged paper, old candy wrappers and dried up ink pads, my joy meter was rising as I spent time with my stamps, dies and papers. The joy that I feel when among my “stash” has neither lessened nor dissipated over time. I still treasure the handmade cards I’ve received from my stamping friends and I am sure I will find a source for the cards I’ve made, thus spreading joy. If you doubt the impossibility of purging one’s craft room, I can refer you to others who share my hobby.

So, there you have it. If you are tracking data regarding the success of your “Life Changing Method of Tidying Up”, put me in the “no” column. I have reread one of your quotes: “The point of the KonMari method is not to have fewer things, but to cherish the things you have.” Since this seems to offer me a choice, I choose the cherish part. It’s a lot less work.

Sincerely,

Judy Jung

P.S. Loved the dress you wore to the Oscars. I would feel joy if I could fit into it.

I’ve used this card and the following card to demonstrate the versatility of the Poppy Edger die. It is lovely either way and each is a different look. I’ve added yellow butterflies to this one, from the Flights of Fancy die set, because I’ve been told that black and white with a touch of color is pleasing to the eye. Personally, I loved it even without the touch of color!

Here I’ve used the Poppy Edger die aligned with the left margin, leaving space for a sentiment on the right. Believe it or not, that butterfly is deep pink in real life, but the camera insists it is bright red. Who am I to argue? This die will be just right for many occasions and will indeed, be timeless.

Be still my heart! The Smiling transparent set includes four adorable bears, a balloon, a present, a butterfly and two sentiments. This is all you need to make some sweet cards for any celebratory occasion. I’ve placed this sweetie in front of the die cut created with the Cut and Stitch Circle die. Perhaps a better name for this die would be “Wow!” It makes anything within its borders pop. It is yet another timeless die.

Dear Readers, I need your opinion. We take Cooper to a very talented and skilled groomer who can carve out of his shaggy curly coat a Bichon looking Cooper or a poodle looking Cooper. When we first adopted Cooper we asked Christina, our groomer to bring out the Bichon look, which she did, fluffy face and legs and all. We soon learned that the groomed look didn’t last the four weeks until the next haircut, so over the years we’ve chosen to clip his coat shorter and with fewer breed specific details. This results in a more poodle look and the haircut lasts longer and looks better over time.

Mr. RWS and I, however, are not in agreement about Cooper’s ears. Well, not actually his ears, but the fur on his ears. Mr. RWS likes the look when the fur is cut short, I prefer longer furry ears. Now, in the face of blizzards and floods, this is not an earth shaking issue, but does give us something to think about until spring bursts forth. We, Mr. RWS and I, (Cooper really doesn’t care) would like your opinion: short or long ears for Cooper. Mr. RWS and I have agreed the majority opinion will determine Cooper’s next haircut.

And once again, I am done chatting and cutting and pasting and coloring. I’ve stowed the scissors safely and vacuumed the scraps. I have decided that I am definitely a messy stamper and that brings me joy!

Remember, there is a Party with Penny Blog Hop on this Monday, March 4th to celebrate the new Timeless release. There will be fourteen stops on the hop, including Yours Truly. Of course there will be prizes! Five lucky winners will win a $50 shopping trip to the Penny Black online store. Who doesn’t love prizes?

On that happy note, I say good-bye until next time. See you at the Hop!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 30-543 Flower Teddy, 30-557 Lovely Birthday, 51-422 Stitched Square and Circle

Card No. 2: 30-541 Good Wishes, 40-680 At Grace

Card No. 3: 30-557 Lovely Birthday, 30-560 From the Garden, 51-409 Ribbon Stackers, 80-015 Golden Moment

Card No. 4: 51-132 Flights of Fancy, 51-292 Just for You, 51-507 Poppy Edger

Card No. 5: 51-132 Flights of Fancy, 51-339 You Enjoy, 51-507 Poppy Edger

Card No. 6: 30-546 Smiling, 51-508 Cut and Stitch Circles

*Guest blog post disclaimer: From time-to-time we have guest bloggers post on our site. The views, opinions and positions expressed within these guest posts are those of the author alone and do not represent those of Penny Black Inc. The accuracy, completeness and validity of any statements made within this article are not guaranteed. We accept no liability for any errors, omissions or representations. The copyright of this content belongs to the author and any liability with regards to infringement of intellectual property rights remains with them.
96 Comments leave one →
  1. Gayle Lindsay permalink
    March 2, 2019 12:11 am

    Cooper is a handsome pup no matter what, but if I had to choose I prefer the long fluffy ears Thank you for sharing him with us, he brightens our day Gayle Lindsay

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Catalina Laires permalink
    March 2, 2019 12:22 am

    Personally I like Cooper’s ears short. He looks more like a Teddy Bear that way and when looking at his whole face the smaller size ears do not overwhelm his cute face and eyes.

  3. Catalina M Laires permalink
    March 2, 2019 12:26 am

    I prefer it when Cooper has short ears. He looks more like a Teddy Bear that way. In my opinion the long ears overwhelm his cute face. You can see his eyes stand out much better with the shorter ears.

  4. Sue Scott permalink
    March 2, 2019 12:31 am

    Judy, like you I prefer Coopers ears to be furrier. My husband and I have exactly the same “discussion“ about out Schnauzer cross grooming! Suex. PS I do love your cards by the way!!! Xxx

  5. Teresa permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:16 am

    Short ears for Cooper… really nice cards….

  6. Andrea Hastilow permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:19 am

    Fantastic cards & fun stories, many thanks. I look forward to seeing your email address pop in my inbox every Saturday morning now since finding your fabulous site. As for Mr Cooper’s ears I have a solution to how everyone is happy, I hope ! How about in the colder months when the winds up Mr Cooper has longer fluffy fur to protect him but in the heat to save him sweating he has shorter fur more practical ! Think this may translate to sitting on a fence some what, sorry. Have a great weekend x

  7. Denise Melia permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:44 am

    I am partial to the fluffy longer ears on Cooper. Cooper is adorable either way though. And I too love your blog and cards. Thanks so much for sharing your talent. I have Bichons so I’m a little prejudice.

  8. creatingincolors permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:13 am

    Yes! You nailed Marie Kondo’s Life Changing Method. I was semi-successful in the kitchen, with clothing, and knick-knacks – but my craft space? I have good intentions, but when I touch my craft stuff, the majority of it brings me joy, so I haven’t made much of a dent there. It brings me comfort to know I’m not alone!
    So Cooper is adorable no matter how his hair is cut, but there’s something about those cute little ears. Maybe the post above that mentions long in the winter and short in the summer is the answer.
    Your cards are so pretty. This Timeless release has me swooning. I want it all, and am having a hard time whittling down my shopping list to “reasonable”, whatever that is. It was good having coffee with you again on this Saturday morning.

  9. Michelle permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:19 am

    I think he looks cuter with the short ears. I always enjoy your posts. I love your cards and I love your stories, and I LOVE Cooper.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  10. Nancy LaRue permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:34 am

    I think I like the shorter ears but why don’t you do them both ways? Short every other grooming. I’m in the midst of trying the Marie Kondo method here modified to suit my personality. She might not be impressed but I have gotten rid of a lot of stuff. I always look forward to your blog…and your cards. Hope the flood doesn’t affect you! Happy spring!

  11. Susan permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:35 am

    Hi Judy, I love his longer fluffier ears.

  12. Marliese permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:37 am

    I’m with you, I prefer the fluffy ears. As always, enjoy your beautiful cards and commentary. Thank you for sharing.

  13. Ruth permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:37 am

    I do not do well with the cling brush stamps, but I love them and think they are beautiful. You may have convinced me to give them another try. As for Cooper, I like the longer fluffy cut. It may require a spa day every 3 weeks but looks so cute. Thanks for the lovely cards.

  14. Nancy permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:42 am

    I vote for shorter cut on the ears. I had much the same results with the Marie method. It did allow me to get rid of much in the linen closet & cleared out 2 dresser drawers. But I like my “stuff”. My family pictures bring me great joy! Every one of them. My craft room is in constant need of cleaning. I make quilts in addition to card making. I’m so thankful for my lovely craft room. Love your cards & Saturday chats.

  15. Karla permalink
    March 2, 2019 4:51 am

    Short ears. I
    Also I am not sure anyone has made it through destashing their craft room

  16. March 2, 2019 5:05 am

    I also vote for the shorter ears.

  17. Jan Pignanelli permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:18 am

    I am used to seeing Cooper with the long cut, but I would vote on compromise until the best ears win! Great work on the cards, Judy! Complete understanding about the decluttering effort. (Not totally committed here either…)

  18. Debbie P permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:18 am

    Great cards. Glad to here everything is good. I like copper ears long. My mom has the same dog . They are beautiful dogs.

  19. Peg permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:29 am

    Loved your column this week Judy and the cards are adorable. Those little bears are so sweet. You did a good job with the Kon Mari method! I’m still contemplating it!!! I vote for longer cut on Cooper’s ears. He is so darn cute no matter what cut he has! Pray for Spring!!!

  20. Ruth Tinkham permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:36 am

    Short ears for sure make him look so handsome. Loved your Kon Mari write up, perfect! I look forward to your column, finding lots of joy in it.

  21. Ellen Waterman permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:40 am

    Short cut in the ears.

  22. Kay Boone permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:48 am

    Your letter to Marie could have been written by me!!! I have made a semi-successful effort to purge, but in reality, ALL my stuff brings me joy! Love your column and I vote for the shorter cut on Cooper’s ears. Praying for sunshine in your state!

  23. bbgeltz permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:54 am

    My Havanese, Cisco and I vote for the long ears. That should count as two votes. LOL!

  24. March 2, 2019 5:55 am

    Your blog is the highlight of my early Saturday morning. I cannot believe I agree with 90% of what you write, and love all your cards. This is the first time I’ve sent a comment, but must say I agree with Mr. RWS ~ short ears. We had a shih-tzu for 15 years, and kept him clipped pretty short, including what could be clipped from the ear hair. Love your blog!!

  25. Sandy C, permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:08 am

    I like the longer fluffier fur on his ears!

  26. SarahC permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:09 am

    Love your cards and your post. I have also done the Marie Kondonmethod successfully in other parts of the house. Not the craft area because it is too much like Christmas finding gems I forgot I had.
    To your second question I like dogs with fluffy ears. The longer hairs just look and feel more natural.
    I look forward to your next post. Thanks for sharing your insights since they make me smile.

  27. Jane Somerville permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:09 am

    I look so forward to your blog posts and stories. Your cards are always beautiful. I prefer the long ears.

  28. Vilma Dallas permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:11 am

    BooHoo. It looks like short ears is winning, but I vote for long ears.. short ears somehow makes him look scalped! Long ears make him look carefree & friendlier

  29. Michelle Shackleton permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:31 am

    As a long time Bichon owner I must say that it’s the “powder puff” round shape of the head that makes the breed unique. This was designed to keep the grass (and seeds) out of their ears. The “teddy bear” look is another breed altogether…not a Bichon.
    Cooper is absolutely adorable 🥰❤️

  30. Judith A. Bartnik permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:33 am

    I like the short ears. He looks more cuddly and neat that way. And if it means fewer cuts, that’s a plus, too. He’s cute either way.

  31. Sheri D permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:55 am

    Short ears for Cooper. The better to hear you with, my dear!

  32. March 2, 2019 7:00 am

    Oh mercy…Cooper looks so different in the photos. Short=serious…longer= let the fun begin.
    He is cute regardless of how they turn out.
    OH I do love the Poppie Edger.

  33. Linda Page permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:11 am

    I am certain that my purging efforts would not be any better than yours so I have not even attempted it! You are a much braver soul than I. As for cutie pie Cooper, I vote for long ears. Here is a smooch 😘 for Cooper!

  34. March 2, 2019 7:16 am

    HA! I guess you found joy your way!! Good for you. You crack me up. Your cards are the bomb. Love love love that cutout die flower set. And the plum card. I could go on. But I have to comment on dog ear’s! I prefer the shorter look. I have no reason why. but my rule is whomever takes the dog to the groomer gets to choose. how’s that for diplomacy!??

  35. Dorothy Hubbard permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:20 am

    I vote for a short cut for Cooper’s ears. He is soooo cute. Couldn’t stop smiling while reading the letter to Marie Kondo re “Life Changing Method of Tidying Up”. So reminds me of my ongoing struggles to unclutter. I also choose the ‘cherish part.’

  36. Carmen Banks permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:35 am

    Short❤️🎵💃🎶

  37. Pat Gasko permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:40 am

    I love Cooper with longer fluffy ears. They seem to frame his so cute face. I never heard of Marie Kondo but I’ve had my own methods: If I haven’t touched it, wore it, used it in one year’s time I get rid of it. One year from the day I’m decluttering. This does not apply to my craft room that’s a separate issue and there are items I will donate or give away to friends if they like it. So the life span I attach to various items differs. And if it’s something I cherish it stays no matter what and I’ve been very lucky I have not regretted it.

  38. Roxanna Winchester permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:42 am

    Cooper is so darn cute either way, I prefer the fluffy ears

  39. March 2, 2019 7:48 am

    Cooper is such a handsome guy, no matter what! I like the ‘short’ cut – the longer cut is very cute, but does have a more ‘girly’ look.
    It seems this ‘Marie’ method is causing quite a stir! My house is very small & my craft area has grown a LOT since I started paper crafting. I used to be a prolific knitter . . . yarn is much easier to organize & store (my large, antique armoire worked well). I tend to be more like you & always consider the ‘JOY’ factor …. also, I inevitably miss something as soon as it’s gone!

  40. barbara lassiter permalink
    March 2, 2019 7:59 am

    My problem with destashing my craft room is that it’s done for the purpose of adding something new ( as in there’s no more room unless I get rid of something)! Does that count? As for that adorable COOPER, I vote for the LONGER look! 🙂

  41. March 2, 2019 8:03 am

    Wonderful cards Judy…love the black & white ones and especially the adorable little bear in the cutout shape! And your letter to Marie was perfect…I so agreed with all of it! If it’s in my house it’s because it brings me joy…I can’t help it if my house isn’t big enough to contain all my joy!! And I’m sorry to tell you that I agree with Mr. RWS…I like the shorter ears on Cooper…gives him more of a teddy bear look that is just adorable! Of course he’s adorable in both pics, but just saying…. :0)

  42. ginger na permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:15 am

    Perhaps a compromise …short in spring and summer and long in fall and winter, but I like the poodle look. Loved all your cards . My favorites were the poppy cards and the brushstroke card. Did you re-discover your “stickpin” leaf while “tidying up”? Please consider a weekly feature where you use an older(but available) stamp that is a favorite of yours. I look forward to seeing and reading your posts. Take good care.

  43. Patti J. permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:16 am

    Beautiful cards! I’m the same way you are…I like my things 😉 And I love Cooper’s fluffy ears! Thanks for sharing, and have a great weekend! Hope you don’t flood. We are to get 8″ of snow overnight. Ugh…

  44. Julie L permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:21 am

    I found Marie K’s book when it first came out, and it really helped with a closet purge. Then we moved to a smaller home, and I donated 9 truckloads of household items to the Salvation Army and several hundred books to the library, allowing just 3 bookcases to remain (as a teacher of literature, I cherish my fav books). When I moved my craft room, I used the opportunity to sell/donate categories I no longer use (polymer clay supplies, for example). My new craft room is much more organized, but I could still supply a small country with all my treasures, esp paper and coloring mediums. I did pack up 3 boxes and told myself if I didn’t open them in a year, I’d donate. Well, they are still in my craft room closet, just in case. One thing that really works with the Kondo method is that I am no longer adding to the problem in every area (except my craft room). I use my library card and have only purchased 2 books in 3 years. Gift books are passed on or donated if I don’t think I’ll re-read. Now that I’m retired, I can get rid of suits, heels, etc. I shop my closets instead of the store. With less “stuff” I’m surrounded by only those things that bring me joy. Just wish her method worked on my hubby’s garage and shed!
    I vote for a short trim on Cooper’s ears.

  45. Janet Harrington permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:23 am

    We have an Australian labradoodle and I guess we therefore prefer the longer, fluffier ears!

  46. Carol Jones permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:25 am

    Long ears please! Of course he is adorable either way, but I prefer them fluffier. And oh goodness, I must have that poppy edger die! What gorgeous cards! And finally, for what it’s worth, I’m with you on the decluttering, Now in my 70’s, I feel like I should clean out so that my offspring will have less of a burden later on. However, so far it hasn’t yielded much difference….

    I always look forward with much pleasure to your posts. Wish we could craft together sometime, but Nevada and Alabama are far apart. We did, however, have several inches of snow here last week, and it’s raining today, so not that different….

  47. Carolyn Picken permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:27 am

    Long ears without a doubt. Suits him better. Besides whatever do men know about style.

  48. Beth permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:38 am

    Long and short both adorable, but the short is such a puppy…ish look. I sway towards that.
    Pant sizes…..I immediately thought of Starbucks. Why can’t they just accept I order using verbiage….small, medium, large.

  49. March 2, 2019 8:43 am

    Long ears. I’m sure Cooper agrees. I also want to tell you how much I enjoy your articles with every single post. You are magnificent as a writer (and cardmaker, goes without saying) and I wonder if you plan to collect all these essays for a book? I so appreciate your beautiful words and thoughts. The letter to Marie Kondo was beyond superb in its gentle humor and realistic attitude. May I share it with friends – attributed, of course?
    Congratulations and thanks for all you do.
    BTW, my latest book is on Noah Webster so I AM sorry you had to let your dictionary go. I do understand, though! (NOAH WEBSTER & HIS WORDS)

  50. Donna Sicafuse permalink
    March 2, 2019 9:01 am

    Puppy ears long of course, they are just so cute and Cooper is always adorable—you can tell him I said that of him—just love hearing of him and his adventures—thanks for sharing—-I can contend with your cleaning as say going to do but hmmmmm not much gets tossed for this reason or that.—LOL

  51. Ruth permalink
    March 2, 2019 9:33 am

    Cooper is cute both ways! So to make both you and Mr. RWS happy, you could have the longer cut for colder weather and the shorter cut for warmer weather.

  52. Debbie permalink
    March 2, 2019 9:37 am

    Short, He’s cute either way !!

  53. Regina DZIAK permalink
    March 2, 2019 9:51 am

    Thanks! I like the black and white a lot.

  54. Karen H permalink
    March 2, 2019 10:46 am

    Former Bichon Mom of 2 with her 2 cents. The ears are important for the Bichon look, so why not try somewhere in between? Love to you, Mr RWS and Cooper!

  55. Laura Holt permalink
    March 2, 2019 10:49 am

    Cooper is much more handsome with long ears! Laura

  56. Mitzi permalink
    March 2, 2019 11:10 am

    I like your poppy die cut cards [I even like the butterflies in ‘red’ as I’m not a pink person. On the Cooper issue; I much prefer the shorter cut on the ears. But he is adorable no matter how his ears look!

  57. March 2, 2019 11:12 am

    I agree with you Judy, long ears! He’s cute either way though 😊

  58. Jan Castle permalink
    March 2, 2019 11:15 am

    Hi Judy…while I love both looks for Cooper, I lean towards the long fluffy ears – I can just see them swinging along as he walks and shakes his head – LOL – He is ADORABLE!!!!
    Your ‘Marie’ letter is ‘oh so true’…we as crafters find JOY is almost everything we have – if we cannot use it, we pass it on to another crafter to ‘spark joy’ for them…and even that brings us JOY!
    I ordered the poppy edger and am awaiting its arrival – love the look of your cards! Now off to order the ‘Cut & Stitch Circle’…these dies really DO SPARK JOY!!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  59. March 2, 2019 11:37 am

    He looks adorable either way but I’m partial to long, fluffy ears. Sorry, Mr. RWS.

  60. Debbie Br permalink
    March 2, 2019 11:52 am

    Well, Mr. RWS, I agree with the short ears! Since all of our furry loved ones have been Bichon/Shitzu, you can see why we would be partial to the look!
    Sorry, Mrs. RWS 😘

  61. March 2, 2019 12:58 pm

    I always read every word of your posts, although I don’t always comment…but this one was especially easy to relate to as you documented your venture in organizing and purging. I too, find so much joy in my craft hoard, errr, I mean supplies. In fact, if I really went completely Marie Kondo here I fear that I would be left with nothing but craft stuff…and barely enough to keep the household running. I’m even worse than you though, in that I actually keep my dried out inkpads with the plan of adding ink at some later date (and we know how that always works out). Life is not worth much without things and people that bring joy so I say…craft on!
    As for Coopers ears…I like them shorter. We have a malti-poo named Toby whose ears are always kept short and rounded. It makes him easier to take care of and I love the sweet little teddy bear look. So another vote for the short ears!

  62. DIANA Barnes permalink
    March 2, 2019 1:03 pm

    I think the short ears look more masculine, but the long ears are definitely cuter! Loved your letter to the “declutter lady”!

  63. Linda Johnson permalink
    March 2, 2019 1:13 pm

    I always look forward to your posts. I agree that decluttering a craft room is near impossible. I have paper I fell in love with and bought 5 years ago that I haven’t used yet because I’m not ready for it to go live with someone else! As far as Cooper is concerned, I like the fluffy ears. You could do a compromise and have them long in the cold months and short in the warm ones. He is adorable both ways.

  64. Vicky S. permalink
    March 2, 2019 2:09 pm

    I have tried that decluttering . it was ok in the drawers & closet. Everything I took out of the craft room when I looked at it, I thought oh no I cann’t get rid of that. So I am with you. I had a stamp I was going to get rid of & my husband said you are not getting rid of THAT so he took it. He is as bad as me. I love your cards & Penny Black is my favorite stamps. The big question Cooper ears. I agree with the person that said short in summer & long in winter.
    I look forward to your posts. Hope you are feeling stronger every day. We are getting 6 inches of snow tonight. Guess I will just have to stamp HA HA.

  65. DebbieP permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:07 pm

    Wow…it seems everyone has an opinion on Cooper’s ears! I loved your post today about the Kondo method. I tried using her folding ideas for my husband’s expansive t-shirt collection. The shirts that once fit in one drawer now need more space…and since it is a pain to get the shirt he wants out of the drawer, he keeps wearing the same 4-5 shirts every week. While the drawer looks nice, it hasn’t really brought me joy. Moving on, your cards are beautiful today, as always. I love poppies so the poppy edger cards really bring joy. As for Cooper, I think the shorter ears look a little less fru fru, so they would be my preference. Have a great flood-free week!

  66. Jani Howe permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:10 pm

    Oh, definitely longer, and fluffier! But, does Cooper have a preference???

  67. Kathy Cardon permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:46 pm

    To me it doesn’t matter. I love Cooper in any way, shape or form. I look forward to see him in each post and love him however you decide to groom him. And I love the teddy bear card you made. Stay safe with your heads above water and Cooper’s paws dry. Take care and be well.

  68. Sheila Lile permalink
    March 2, 2019 3:54 pm

    I like the cards but when I come to you it’s all about Cooper. I like the cut on the right side with the blanket but with the short ears. My poodle had the long ears a lot for a long time and he looked good but the short ones are easier to care for. But you and Mr. RWS take such good care of him I don’t think it matters one way or the other.

  69. Tina Murphy permalink
    March 2, 2019 5:06 pm

    Love your take on the poppy die. I have been playing with it for 3 days and still don’t have anything I like yet. First try, I forgot to open the card and ended up with poppy cut outs on front and back. Duh! Next try, used daubers to color and got the color on the card. 😦 But the playing is bringing me joy so no worries. Cooper looks so happy in the photo with the blanket and his fluffy ears. Looks like his vote is fluffy!

  70. Leap Year Baby permalink
    March 2, 2019 6:05 pm

    De cluttering my craft room? Impossible based on the joy it provides…and to think I have a quilt room to boot.
    Love the poppy card.
    Love the long fluffy ears, I save a lot of Coopers pictures for my art journaling. He’s the perfect model!

  71. Carla Hundley permalink
    March 2, 2019 8:51 pm

    Wonderful letter and
    lovely cards. I love
    the long ears fur on
    Cooper!
    Carla from Utah

  72. Darlene Fellows permalink
    March 2, 2019 9:37 pm

    I think Cooper looks cute no matter what, but I do prefer the longer ear look. Reminds me of my own bichon, Sam. He was a rescue and finding a good groomer and the perfect hair cut took a bit, but it was worth it. Thank you for sharing your cards, your stories and your time with us.

  73. Gilda permalink
    March 3, 2019 4:48 am

    Short ears on Cooper look so cute and your decluttering story is one I relate to as well. It was fun to read!

  74. Jane Harrah permalink
    March 3, 2019 7:43 am

    I am in the short cut, sweet face showing more look! He is too cute to hide the face and the long hair ears look like a bad hair day. Love your Kon Mari take as I have much the same problem. Many things are really just more stuff but hard to part with due to sentimentality! Wishing you a wonderful week ahead and blessings in abundance! Like the ones you give your readers. Thank you.

  75. Shirley permalink
    March 3, 2019 8:24 am

    Cooper is a handsome Bichon! I have a Bichon girl named Emma. In these two photos of Cooper I lean towards the longer style with one suggestion. I suggest that the longer shape be trimmed a little shorter with a soft roundness to follow the shape of Coopers face. I think Coopers face is trimmed perfectly. I think all Bichon are cute and cuddly.

  76. Sharon permalink
    March 3, 2019 11:38 am

    Shorter ears. It looks more dignified and Cooper is, above all else, dignified. Thanks for the joy your blog brings to me.

  77. nancw permalink
    March 3, 2019 11:48 am

    Short ears on that cutie!

  78. March 3, 2019 12:29 pm

    Oh my goodness! I laughed out loud – not just LOL I mean really literally out loud several times reading your delightful post!! I hope Marie reads it!! giggles!

    LOVE your cards and I can’t name a favorite but I am kicking myself!! for not getting the Poppy Edger! really outstanding line up Judy!

    My vote!! shorter ears! I think they look just adorable! almost like a cuddly stuffed animal : ) can’t wait to see who wins!

    Have a great day! Patti

  79. Sheryl M permalink
    March 3, 2019 1:20 pm

    I like the fluffy ears on Cooper. They make him much cuter, even though he’s cute either way. I always look forward to your posts and your cards. Keep the “JOY” it is important in our lives.

  80. Barbara Laskowski permalink
    March 3, 2019 2:51 pm

    I had a poodle mix and found a puppy cut was the cutest on him. You can compromise and try somewhere between the two. Love your blog

  81. Brenda S. West permalink
    March 3, 2019 3:33 pm

    Thank you for sharing, every Sunday, your stories and cards. I look forward to them every week. I like the shorter ears on Cooper. Your story today brought back a lot of my past worries about paring down stuff here in our home. 2017 brought Harvey into our home (literally) by flooding it with 4 ft of water. We were able to tear down the whole inside and start anew. (That was with God helping us save in past and helping the flood insurance company to be generous.) We are grateful, but I want to try to pare down yearly, so as not to get back to what it was.
    Do keep up as long as you can with your stories. They bless me more than you will ever know. Brenda West (Texas native)

  82. Diane permalink
    March 4, 2019 12:53 am

    I think the short ear cut makes him look like a boy, which he is, and the fluffy ears are more girly. Just my opinion! Short definitely for the warmer weather though!
    Love your letter to Marie.
    I recently moved house and have to downsize my craft stash due to a smaller space but it’s all stacked up in boxes. I can’t face sorting it out and I don’t want to throw anything out either. Marie would have a field day sorting through my stash!

  83. March 4, 2019 5:47 am

    Greetings from chilly Pembroke, Ontario, Canada Judy and I couldn’t agree more with your feelings as explained to Ms Kondo. There is nothing but pure joy felt whenever I am surrounded by my craft supplies. Cooper is adorable no matter which way his ears swing but he is just the cutest with his short puppy ears! Blessings to all of you ❤️

  84. March 4, 2019 6:27 am

    I commented the other day ( for Cooper’s ears), and forgot to say that I love all your cards, Judy!

  85. March 4, 2019 7:15 am

    I am overjoyed to have found your blog! I’m going to subscribe after I leave this comment. Your writing is wonderful to read! I vote for Cooper to have the shorter cut as he looks like his breed, not a mini poodle. I love the teddy bear look it gives him. I had to chuckle reading your letter to Marie Kondo. Having too much stuff or clutter has never been my problem until I started cardmaking. I had to quit work & go on disability pension & my husband told me I’d need a hobby, so whenever he comments about the cost of the cards I’m making I just remind him he’s the one who got me started with this (obsession), no I mean hobby which brings me joy. Love your cards, especially the poppies. Wow!

  86. karenajo permalink
    March 4, 2019 10:10 am

    Yes, organizing a craft room is a challenge! Who knows when those items in our ‘stash’ may come in handy! Thanks for a great column and so many beautiful, inspirational card ideas. This is a great PB release. Looks like Cooper’s cut has generated quite a response! I vote for the shorter ears – looks more like a cute boy bear!

  87. Kathy H permalink
    March 4, 2019 12:36 pm

    I guess I am not going to be much help in your disagreement. I thought Cooper is so cute with both short and fluffy ears! I do think that he might appreciate the extra fur in the winter and sorter hair in your hot summers. Thank you! I always enjoy your cards and stories so much!

  88. Marisela Delgado permalink
    March 4, 2019 4:20 pm

    SHORT HAIR/EARS! He is super cute anyway, but he looks cuter with short hair/ears.

  89. Marti_L permalink
    March 4, 2019 7:55 pm

    Floofy ears, please!

  90. Kathleen Barrett permalink
    March 4, 2019 9:53 pm

    Love the cards. Love the konmari letter even more. I, too, have a cherish problem in my art room! As far as Cooper’s ears go, I am with Mr. RWS.

  91. March 4, 2019 10:36 pm

    Had to laugh at the konmari letter! However, I think you are wrong about it not working. Much got purged, and much was appreciated and cherished. Is that not the goal? As far as Cooper’s ears… the difference between the 2 pictures is striking. I would not have thought he was the same dog. I fear my comment may not cast a definitive vote though. While I like the fluffy ears more, I must say it is a bit feminine. The short cut is distinctly more masculine. I suspect Mr. RWS will fault you if Cooper develops any identity issues as a result of his ear style. 😉 Now if Cooper begins to identify as a cat or hamster, I think you need to look for another root cause of his issues than his hairstyles! LOL

  92. donna mikasa permalink
    March 4, 2019 11:18 pm

    Oh, Judy, I’m dying!! I’m taking a break in between cardmaking and your letter to Marie Kondo?! It’s hilarious!!! Did you really/are you really going to send it to her? You just have to! And let us know her response. She may very well feature you in a follow up episode–I would! And as for Cooper, I love how versatile he looks just by the way his ears are trimmed! I love them both ways–maybe shorter for warm weather and the puffy look for the colder season. And I’m the 92nd comment!!

  93. Peggy Lee permalink
    March 5, 2019 2:36 am

    Long ears for sure! My husband and I had the same disagreement. I like the long hair. Please keep it long!!!!

  94. March 5, 2019 10:20 am

    Definetly longer ears. Erm how many votes can I have !.l! Hugs Mrs A.

  95. Kathleen Koban permalink
    March 5, 2019 8:00 pm

    Judy – I was roaring at the Marie Kondo reference – I figure my kids will have to worry about it eventually, but for now I will enjoy my books, (multiple) size clothes and every birthday card they have ever given me. What fun is a neat, uncluttered home? Life is messy. Oh and I love your cards. Short ears for Coop.

  96. March 9, 2019 9:25 am

    Sorry I’m so late getting here, Judy. Oh my goodness–so appropriate to see your letter to Marie. A few days ago I was telling a neighbor I have done a tiny bit of cleaning out (including my sock drawer, of all things!) & how overwhelming what I have left is. She asked if I knew about Marie & told me the gist of her book. I laughed out loud when she talked of using it for my craft stuff, so you & I are on the same page there! I did get rid of a few things like little silk flowers & clear balls for Christmas I never decorated, but hubby can’t tell I’ve done anything. Wonderful cards–great seeing the poppy edger options & I love the first card & the purple flowers! Cooper is a cutie pie, no matter what, but being honest I like the ears in the photo on the left.
    I’ve thought about you several times when the Weather Channel showed problems in northern Alabama. Hoping you didn’t have any problems in your neighborhood. I have vivid memories of the horrible flood here when we sandbagged & wondered if the water would reach us. We were cut off, but no water, thankfully. Sending hugs, Greta

Leave a comment