Skip to content

Runs With Scissors

March 15, 2014

Hhhmmm….looks like Judy runs with scissors AND ribbon!

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends!  Here it is the Ides of March, March Madness and one week until Spring!  Did March come in like a lion or a lamb in your part of the world?

I’ve been having a little of my own “March Madness” here at the Penny Black blog.  A couple of weeks ago, Mr. Runs With Scissors painted my craft room (we have finally given up calling it the den) a lovely contemporary neutral color.  Well, nothing would do but I paint my little area here on the blog, too.  Nothing neutral about this pool and tangerine combination, though!  I have been heavily influenced by Jill Foster’s style!!  Who knows?  Maybe I’ve started a trend.

It’s been an amazing week of lovely ribbon by May Arts.  I am so happy to see ribbon being used on tags and cards.  I think it is a classic addition to any project.  I use ribbon a lot and have a large collection of colors and fabrics and widths.  If you would like to use ribbon more often but think tying a perfect bow is too tricky, there are YouTube tutorials for making the perfect bow, such as THIS one.

Here’s a tag I created using an interesting technique for the background.

judy

I first inked the tag rather heavily with Distress inks.  I then sprayed the back of an old stencil with water and placed it on top of the inky tag.  When the stencil was lifted off the tag, the water pulled away some of the ink and left the subtle pattern.  I added only die cuts to the tag, using Creative Dies Leaves, Love Expressions and Flutters.  I applied a touch of gold ink to the leaves and butterfly.   A sturdy cranberry-colored ribbon tops off the tag.

When I saw the Transparent set Cool Chicks, it was love at first sight!  Here’s a card I made using the “dress up” image.

judy2

Isn’t she adorable!!  And her little puppy is glad to be part of the fun.  I used the Creative Die Interlocking for the background.  Did you notice I didn’t push out the petals at all?  I like that I can get two different looks from the same die depending on how much of it I leave in place.  I colored the images with Copic markers and added a banner from Triple Banners for the sentiment.  I colored white seam binding using the same Copic marker I used to color the little girl.  I think the ribbon gives your eye a place to rest after seeing so much pattern in the background.

Now that I completed a tag and a card, my next step was to do a card that included a tag.

judy3

This time I did poke out all the little petals which gave the background a lacier look.  I colored the flowers with Copic markers and added a tiny tag to the regular tag just for fun!

The Blooming Tags transparent set is a great place to start when making tags.  The three larger tags include the background as well as the main floral image.  And there are three mini tags and four sentiments, too.  There’s no limit to the combinations you can choose.  I used the sample on the back of the package to color my card:  easy peasy!

Penny Black had a Sending Hugs challenge last month and featured the Winners and Honorable Mentions.  There was great participation and I know the winners were thrilled to have their work recognized.

Well, I spent some time browsing the Penny Black Gallery and I found this lovely tag that included ribbon and a bow that was made by Lexa Levena.

lex

Isn’t this adorable?  So much to look at and enjoy on a tag!  Lots of different ribbon, twine and bows which add so much.  Lexa posted two more tags, too.

Lexa, here’s a blinkie for you to add to your blog or to your photostream.  Thanks for sharing your work in the Penny Black Gallery.

mime

Well, as you may remember, Cooper has become more and more involved with my stamping.  He keeps really close to me as I work.  Well, maybe he is staying too close!

dog

I was tying bows on anything within reach and he was next in line.  He really doesn’t look very happy about it, but he does appreciate that it is a masculine burlap ribbon.  He also consoles himself with the knowledge that none of his canine buddies follow “Runs with Scissors.”  I’m afraid this is the first and last time Cooper will put up with a bow!!

Well, now that my space is painted those cool tangerine and pool colors and my tags and cards are finished it’s time for me to put away the ribbon and the traveling scissors.

I am so glad you take time on your Saturday to stop by.  I read and appreciate every comment.  Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me.  May your March be lamb-like wherever you are, and may March Madness only take place in your craft room.

SHOP:

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Castle permalink
    March 15, 2014 12:14 am

    Great projects Judy…and Cooper looks handsome in his bow whether he likes it or not!
    Hugs,
    Jan

  2. March 15, 2014 3:38 am

    love all of your tags, Judy! the interlocking die is on my wish list – great idea to leave the center in for a different look. Cooper is such a cutie with his manly bow.!

  3. Dianne Crowe permalink
    March 15, 2014 4:33 am

    Love your work Judy. Cooper looks perfectly happy with his bow.

  4. March 15, 2014 5:04 am

    My eye just keeps going to that middle card with the lovely Interlocking background & Mimi dressing up – you can really imagine her hat made of that ribbon material all floppy & great fun. I do love your colour scheme & how the crisp white is such a lovely foil for the olive green. You’re right the ribbon not only provides a rest for the eyes but leads them down to the sentiment. Your use of the cranberry ribbon with the first tag provides such a gorgeous rich feel to the whole design & picks out the colour in the berries too. As for your last – love the way the hydrangea colours echo the Interlocking background & how you used vibrant yellowy greens with the purple.
    Cooper looks really with it too – very handsome indeed!
    Paula (PEP)

  5. March 15, 2014 6:40 am

    Judy, I love waking up with my weekly ‘runs with scissors’ entertainment column!! Your wonderful style of writing is just like sitting down with a friend for coffee. Your cards are beyond beautiful, gorgeous texture and beautiful colors! And that last picture of Cooper with his bow…totally made me smile! Keep doing what you’re doing, love catching up with you each week.

  6. Carol Jones permalink
    March 15, 2014 7:15 am

    Hi Judy, I am so enjoying your weekly commentary, and your work is exquisite! Thanks so much for sharing with those of us who follow PB.

  7. Susan Roberts permalink
    March 15, 2014 7:18 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your projects with us. As usual they are fantastic! I especially love the Mimi card, because I love the Mimi stamps.

  8. March 15, 2014 7:19 am

    Hello Judy, love your creations. Beautiful tags and tag card and the “cool chick” card is adorable. Love all the pretty details and layers on each of your project. Thanks for sharing. Cooper is super adorable. 🙂

  9. knurse22 permalink
    March 15, 2014 7:21 am

    Ooh, love these cards and especially the tags! I need to make more tags—-so cute! Love reading your threads, Judy!

  10. March 15, 2014 7:29 am

    Oh, that interlocking die is to die for (har har)!! Love what you made for us today, and congrats to Lexa! Your pool and tangerine walls sound very energizing!! Hugs to you, my friend!

  11. Linda baker permalink
    March 15, 2014 8:08 am

    These are all gorgeous like you! Love your weekly feature!

  12. March 15, 2014 8:21 am

    Another fun morning on the PB blog….Your cards and tags were AWESOME today!!! I will have to try your technique for spritzing a stencil and lifting off some of the ink from card stock….that sounds easy. Cooper is such a doll, and a good sport to put up with your antics. He is so adorable!!! Great tags, cards, dog and you…that makes for a great day!!!

  13. March 15, 2014 8:29 am

    Cooper looks very debonair with his bow. Tell him all the girls will be following him. 🙂
    The tags and cards are beautiful. I love all of the cutouts in the backgrounds.

  14. Donna Whitten permalink
    March 15, 2014 9:30 am

    Cute projects today, thanks for sharing! Cooper looks very handsome today.

  15. ThePurplePlace permalink
    March 15, 2014 10:49 am

    Love Cooper’s adorable burlap bow — he’s looking very dapper!! Not to mention all your fabulous crafty projects!! I already bought the “Cute Chickies” set and have just begun to start using it. I love so many of the things from the new line and bought quite a few of them at my LSS. I’m also going there next week for a full day of Penny Black CardMaking and I can’t hardly wait.

    Thanks for another wonderful post and sharing you talent with each of us.

    Hugs,
    Lisa

    • judka permalink
      March 15, 2014 12:00 pm

      Oh, how I wish I could join you at your LSS for a day of Penny Black!! Have a great time!!

  16. March 15, 2014 11:35 am

    Your projects are truly lovely today, so is Cooper. Love reading your entries on this blog and the ideas and links you share.

  17. Sally permalink
    March 15, 2014 12:06 pm

    I really enjoy your blogs & creativeness! You are such an inspiration! Thank you!
    ~Sally

  18. March 15, 2014 1:56 pm

    Judy, once again you knocked this post out of the park! I love your gorgeous tag and those beautiful cards too! You definitely make PB stamps SHINE! And I love seeing Cooper again – that bow made me laugh! ♥

  19. Dawn Turley permalink
    March 15, 2014 2:17 pm

    Hi Judy. Reading this is the highlight of my Sunday mornings. I wait in anticipation every seek for your witty post and inspiring cards and tags. You never cease to provide a few moments fun. Today’s projects are all stunning.

  20. donna mikasa permalink
    March 15, 2014 2:48 pm

    Another wonderful post! I LOVE your tag and cards and seeing Cooper is the icing on the cake! He looks so spiffy with that bow!

  21. Linda S. permalink
    March 15, 2014 2:51 pm

    Tell Mr. Cooper that his new bow is a must have for the Spring/Easter season. He is simply ahead of the game, and other pups are already jealous.

  22. March 15, 2014 3:11 pm

    Inspiring work again, Judy! Congrats to Lexa–well-deserved shout out! A burlap bow for Cooper–love it!

  23. Judy B permalink
    March 15, 2014 3:16 pm

    Such pretty cards and tags! I myself use ribbon on almost everything I make, it does feel kind of naked without it. Thanks so much for sharing with us. PS love the little burlap bow on Cooper.

  24. barbara lassiter permalink
    March 15, 2014 5:47 pm

    Enjoyed your thoughts and comments today on this blog and loved seeing your beautiful cards and tags. Your blog name… Runs With Scissors….makes me grin every time I see it.

  25. karenladd permalink
    March 15, 2014 8:11 pm

    Love seeing all of the gorgeous cards and use of that die! Wow!! They are all so beautiful and creative. My favorite part though, is seeing Cooper with his burlap bow!! I have a malti-poo who looks an awful lot like Cooper but not sure he would pose with a bow as well!

  26. Mei S. permalink
    March 16, 2014 9:49 am

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful projects. The cool chicks dress up card is my favorite, it’s adorable.

  27. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    March 16, 2014 12:51 pm

    Lovely work ladies…really enjoyed all of your gorgeous cards and tags!!

  28. Virginia L. permalink
    March 16, 2014 2:27 pm

    Another FABULOUS post, Judy!! Love the images and how you used the May Arts ribbons! Cooper’s photo make me smile 🙂

  29. Scrappy Belle permalink
    March 17, 2014 7:55 am

    He is so ‘dog’ gone cute and patient!! I have a cockapoo and he would be ripping that off.

  30. March 17, 2014 8:13 pm

    I have some bad news for Cooper, I’m afraid – my Charlie & Lola now know his secret and I just know they’re gonna spread that bow-tie all around fluff-dom…! Bichons are not known for their silence… 😉 LOL!
    Super projects – love Penny Black and needed a little jolt to my mojo. Thank you!
    Eiglas
    x

    • judka permalink
      March 18, 2014 11:44 am

      Oh, dear!! Charlie and Lola are invited to come play with Cooper… we will treat them into silence!!

  31. March 17, 2014 8:28 pm

    Judy, I love tags on cards, and yours are fabulous! Love that background die and of course Cooper seems cuter every time you post a pic of him. Fun post and awesome cards! Way to go friend!

  32. Linda Baker permalink
    May 24, 2014 9:17 am

    You nailed it with the floral manly cards!

Leave a comment